Tropical Medicine Student Awards for AY 2023-24

May 28, 2024, by Dr. Saguna Verma

The Department of Tropical Medicine, Medical Microbiology & Pharmacology (DTMMMP) offers several scholarships and awards to graduate students every year to acknowledge their academic excellence and provide support for their research projects. 

A merit scholarship was established by Chancellor Virginia S. Hinshaw to assist students with a focus on biomedical science in the DTMMMP. In 2024, this scholarship was awarded to four students- Jaymie Bilog-Mina (MS); Asmita Pandey (Ph.D), Ludwig Mayerlen  (Ph.D), and Jonatan F Nieves (Ph.D.). 

A new Wallace-Taylor Travel Award was offered to graduate students to help disseminate their research findings. This award is given in honor of Drs. Gordon Wallace and Diane Taylor, who served on the faculty of the University of Hawai’i John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM) for many years. In Fall 2023, Olivia Smith (Ph.D.) and Isabelle Eiser (MS) received this award to present their findings at a national conference.

The Windsor and Mary Cutting Award is given in honor of Windsor and Mary Cutting to perpetuate their lifelong memory and dedication to pharmacology research conducted at the University of Hawai‘i. Dr. Windsor Cutting was an internationally renowned academician, basic medical scientist, and clinician. In 2024, the recipient of this award was Aneesa Golshan (Ph.D.). 

In addition to these honorary awards, the DTMMMP supported many graduate students’ research training through the Tropical Medicine Achievement Scholarships funded by UH Manoa Graduate Division.