Portraits of Lyon Arboretum’s managers are displayed below.

View Staff by Department

View contact information and staff listings for each department


Nellie Sugii, Hawaiian Rare Plant Program Manager

Nellie Sugii
Acting Director
Office: (808) 988-0457

Kyle Koza, Fiscal Officer

Kyle Koza
Fiscal Officer
Office: (808) 988-2971

Derek Higashi, Office Manager

Education Department

Raedelle Van Fossen, Education Manager

Raedelle Van Fossen
Education Manager
Office: (808) 988-0461

Jenna Watling, Education Specialist
Aziz Agis, Education Associate

Questions about field trips, university visits, outreach, volunteering, or community classes may be directed to (This email address will replace our old email address, effective 1/1/23. Beginning 1/1/23, please use


Clancy Ako, Facilities Manager

Clancy Ako
Facilities Manager
Office: (808) 988-2479

Kim Zane, Facilities Assistant

Grounds and Collections Department

Liloa Dunn, Grounds and Collections Manager

Līloa Dunn
Grounds and Collections Manager
Office: (808) 988-0466

Nate Kamaka, Assistant Arborist
Rob Santiago, Gardener
Tylor Schwarze, Research Support
Richard Sears, Research Support

Hawaiian Rare Plant Program

Micropropagation Lab

Cindy Yamamoto, Micropropagation Lab Manager,  (808) 988-0470,
Devon Gordon, Botanical Support Technician
Doug Okamoto, Greenhouse Technician

Seed Conservation Lab

Nate Kingsley, Seed Lab Manager, (808) 988-0469,
Jaqueline Harvey, Seed Lab assistant

Horticulture Department

Timothy Kroessig, Horticulture Manager

Timothy Kroessig
Horticulture Manager
Office: (808) 988-0472

Katie Hachmeister, Horticulture Assistant

University of Hawaii Foundation

Audrey Hirayama

Audrey Hirayama
Director of Development, College of Tropical Agriculture & Human Resources and Lyon Arboretum
Office: (808) 956-9172
Mobile: (808) 780-3420

Pacific Biosciences Research Center: Center for Conservation Research and Training

Elizabeth Dingeldein
Micropropagation Botanical Support
Office: (808) 988-0470