Hawai’i Congressional Papers Collection

Congressmen and women posingThe Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers Collection (HCPC) comprises the papers of Hawaiʻi delegates to the U.S. Congress since statehood in 1959 to the present. The papers of members of Congress offer a window into the legislative process and into the political views of members of Congress and their constituents.

The papers held by the HCPC include those of U.S. Senator Hiram L. Fong, U.S. Representative Thomas P. Gill, U.S. Senator Spark M. Matsunaga, U.S. Representative Ed Case, and U.S. Representative Patricia F. Saiki, U.S. Representative Neil Abercrombie, U.S. Senator Daniel Akaka, and the U.S. Senator Daniel K. Inouye. The papers of Representative Case and Senator Akaka are currently closed to the public.

Small collections of memorabilia from Territorial Delegate John A. Burns, U.S. Senator Oren E. Long, and U.S. Representative Patsy Mink are also housed in the collection.

The Hawaiʻi Congressional Papers Collection can be accessed in the John Troup Moir Jr. & Gertrude M.F. Moir Archives Reading Room on the fifth floor of the Hamilton Library addition.


Subject Guides

Ask a Librarian

Back To Top