Skip to content

Mānoa 2025: Our Kuleana to Hawaiʻi and the World
Strategic Plan 2015–2025

Aerial view of Manoa Valley in the early morning with the University of Hawaii at Manoa campus in the foreground

In 2018, Provost Bruno charged the strategic planning committee to revisit our goals and update the mission and vision statements for the campus. That effort was guided by a series of campus conversations with students, faculty, and staff who shared their thoughts on where we are and what we aspire to be as a university in the next five years. Inspired and informed by these conversations, the committee prepared a first draft of the updated plan, which was shared with the campus electronically in early 2019. The feedback received from hundreds of faculty, staff and students on that draft informed the final version of our strategic plan, Mānoa 2025.

Read the message from the Provost regarding to the completion of the UH Mānoa Strategic Plan update.

View the 2015–2025 Strategic Plan (PDF).

Questions? Contact

Mission and Vision

Our Mission: E hoʻomālamalama i kō mālama
Cultivating the potential within each member of our community

Located in the most diverse community and environment in the world, the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa is a globally recognized center of learning and research with a kuleana to serve the people and places of Hawaiʻi, and our neighbors in the Pacific and Asia. We cultivate creative and innovative leaders who mālama our people, our places, and our ways of knowing in order to sustain and transform our islands and the world.

Our Vision: He Lamakū O Ke Aloha ‘Āina
A leading light of aloha ‘aina for Hawaiʻi and the world

We will be locally and globally recognized as a premier student-centered, Carnegie Research 1, community-serving university grounded in a Native Hawaiian place of learning that summons our rich knowledge systems to help mālama Hawaiʻi and the world for future generations.

Strategic Planning Committee

2022–Current Strategic Planning Committee

  • Michael Bruno, Provost
  • Nikki Chun, Vice Provost for Enrollment Management and Interim Director of
  • Admissions
  • Jan Gouveia, Vice President for Administration
  • Deb Halbert, Vice President for Academic Strategy
  • Kaiwipunikauikawēkiu Lipe, Director of the Native Hawaiian Place of
  • Learning Advancement Office
  • Laura E. Lyons, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Excellence
  • Katrina-Ann R. Kapāʻanaokalāokeola Oliveira, Interim Vice Provost for
  • Student Success
  • April Nozomi Quinn, Acting Senior Advisor to the Provost
  • Christopher Sabine, Interim Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship
  • Chad Walton, Associate Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship

2018–2022 Strategic Planning Committee

  • Krystyna Aune, Dean, Graduate Division
  • Michael Bruno, Provost
  • Ron Cambra, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education (retired)
  • April Nozomi Goodwin, Academic Affairs Program Officer
  • Jan Gouveia, Vice President for Administration
  • Deb Halbert, Associate Vice President for Academic Programs and Policy
  • Lori M. Ideta, Vice Provost for Student Success
  • Velma Kameoka, Interim Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship
  • Kaiwipunikauikawēkiu Lipe, Native Hawaiian Affairs Program Officer
  • Laura E. Lyons, Interim Vice Provost for Academic Excellence
  • Wendy Pearson, Senior Advisor to the Provost
  • Roxie M. Shabazz, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management (former)
  • Chad Walton, Interim Assistant Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship

2015–2017 Strategic Planning Committee

  • Peter Arnade, Dean, Arts and Humanities
  • Maenette Benham, Dean, Hawaiʻinuiākea School of Hawaiian Knowledge
  • Marguerite A. Butler, Associate Professor, Department of Biology
  • Kathy Cutshaw, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Finance, and Operations
  • Michael Bruno, Interim Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs, Chair
  • April Goodwin, Program Officer, OVCAA
  • Lori Ideta, Vice Chancellor for Students
  • Donna Kiyosaki, Associate Vice President for Administration, UH System
  • Nalani Minton, Kūaliʻi Council
  • Amy McKee, graduate student, GSO
  • Noreen Mokuau, Dean, Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work
  • Shawn Nakamoto, Director of Public Affairs
  • Cecily Ornelles, Associate Professor, College of Education
  • Duane Stevens, Professor, SOEST
  • Laiana Wong, Associate Professor, HSHK
  • David Enriquez, ASUH


Previous Strategic Plans

Back To Top