This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2000-2001

Elected Officers


Jim McCutcheon

Vice President:

Bart Mathias


Ruth Brantley


Roy McArdle

Elected Members-at-Large

Andrew In

Ira Lichton

Reed Brantley

Norman Meller (?)

Bob Cole

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

Ralph Berger, Newsletter Editor


09/12 Reception for President Mortimer at College Hill (evening)
10/12 Dean Edward Cadman of the Medical School, “The Future of the Medical School”
11/09 Dan Boylan,
12/14 (at Treetops) Dr. Randy Hitz, Dean of College of Education, “”
01/11 Dr. M. Lee Goff, Forensic Anthropologist, “Forensic Entomology”
02/08 Dr. Anthony Marsella, Prof. of Psychology, “”
03/08 Dr. Bluebell Stendall, Emeritus Nutrionalist, “Health is in the Making, Wisdom is in the Eating”
04/12 Scheduled meeting cancelled due to system-wide University strike
05/10 Meeting at The Maritime Museum and Restaurant, followed by optional tour