This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2005-2006

Elected Officers


Cedric Cowing

Vice President:

Harvey L. Gochros


John B. Hall


Roy McArdle

Elected Members-at-Large

Bob Campbell

Donald Char

Paul Hooper

Ruth Kleinfeld

Virgie Chattergy

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

Ralph Berger, Newsletter Editor

Bart Mathias, Webmaster


09/08 Dr. James H. Pietsch, Director, Elder Law Program, Richardson Law School, “Plan for the worst. Expect the best. Elder Law in Hawai`i”
10/13 UH President David McClain, “The Changes at the University of Hawai`i”
11/10 Dr. Rebecca L. Cann, Professor, Department of Cell and Molecular Biology, “Modern Human Origins & the Development of Language”
12/15 (At Tree Tops Restaurant at Paradise Park) Professor Joseph Stanton, Arts and Humanities, “Tales can be true: Finding poems in picture books, museums, baseball and the termites under your feet”
01/12 Dr. Cedric Cowing, “America’s War for Independence–Recollections from 2006”
02/09 Terrence Knapp, Emeritus Professor of Theater, “A Celebration of Love”
03/09 Kaka`ako Medical Facility tour
04/13 (In Krauss Hall 112) Abe Arkoff, Psychology, and Rebecca Goodman, Lifelong Learning, “The Illuminated Life”
05/11 Dean Aviam Soifer, Dean of the University of Hawaii Law School, “The Rule of Law in Perilous Times: An American Constitutional Perspective” Election of Officers for 2006-2007