This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 1987-1988

Elected Officers


Wytze Gorter

1st Vice President:

Sidney Townsley

2nd Vice President:

Harold Jambor


Mary Lou McPherson


Y. S. Leong

Elected Members-at-large

Dorothy Aspinwall

Andrew Berger

Henry Bess

Bette Ecke

Mateo Go

Andrew In

Shirley Kamins

Hazel Kramer

Richard K. C. Lee

Wallace Mitchell


01/21/88 No record
02/18 No record
03/24 Annual meeting, Campus Center Ballroom; Calabash for non-member donations. Election of Officers and Board for 1988-89.
04/21 Belinda Aquino, “Reflections on the Philippines”
04/27 Breakfast Meeting at College Hill, interested members and President Simone. “What retirees can do for the University and vice versa”
05/19 Iolani Palace tour

Important Board Decisions and Discussions

02/24/88 FRAUHM logo debuts, on the minutes
04/06 New Officers and Board of Directors installed