This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2014-2015

Elected Officers


Vice President:



Bob Campbell

Elected Members-at-Large

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

Bart Mathias, Webmaster, Newsletter Editor

Ced Cowing, Program

Bob Campbell, Membership


09/09 Meda C Lind on the women’s movement
10/14 Oliver Lee, “The making of a Chinese-American radical”
11/11? Susan Fallout and Susan Matoba Adler from UH West Oahu, on Hono’uli’uli (Oahu’s WWII internment and POW camp)
12/09 John Hall on Kenya
01/13 Eldon Wegner on Aging
02/10 Fred. T. MacKenzie on the evolution of the ocean and atmosphere
03/10 Theodore Rodgers on Turkey and the Middle East
04/14 Volcanologist Michael Garcia on Hawaii volcanos
05-12 Ken Kipnis, memoirs