This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2004-2005

Elected Officers


Cedric Cowing

Vice President:

Harvey Gochros


John Hall


Roy McArdle

Elected Members-at-Large

Bob Campbell

Donald Char

Paul Hooper

Ruth Kleinfeld

Jacqui Maly

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

Ralph Berger, Newsletter Editor

Bart Mathias, Past President


09/09 Dr. George Simson, Prof. Emeritus of English, “The Do-It Yourself Biography Center”
10/14 Prof. Mary E. Tiles, Dept. of Philosophy, President of UHPA, “The role of UHPA at UH”
11/18 John Griffin, emeritus writer for Honolulu Avertiser and UH Alumnus, “The changing role of the University in Hawaii”
12/09 Dr. Neal Smatresk, Vice Chancellor, at Treetops Restaurant, “Early impressions of UH Manoa, Status of the Faculty Club and Concerns with UH Retirees”
01/13 Prof. Jerry H. Bentley, Department of History, “University of Hawaii, the Leader in World History”
02/10 Prof. Robert Perkinson, Dept. of American Studies, “Texas Tough: The Prison Empire”
03/10 Visit to Windward Community College (WCC), arranged by Jacqueline Maly
04/14 Diane Perushek, University Librarian, “Hamilton Library and the Flood”
05/12 Dr Thomas A. Schroeder, Professor and Chair, Dept. of Meteorology and Atmospheric Research, Chair, UH Senate Executive Committee, “My Year in Hell — Major Concerns of the Manoa Senate, Including Retirees Parking”