This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2015-2016

Elected Officers


LaRene Despain

Vice President:



Bob Campbell

Elected Members-at-Large

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

John B. Hall, Immediate Past President

Bart Mathias, Webmaster, Newsletter Editor

Ced Cowing, Program

Bob Campbell, Membership (UH Foundation)


09-15 Jan Taniguchi, “Recruiting Students for the Manoa Campus”
10-13 Cedric Cowing. on the character development of some more recent US Presidents
11-10 LaRene Despain, “Teaching School in South Carolinba in the Civil Rights Era”
12-08 J.N. Musto, “How do you deal with UH?”
01-19 Roger Whitlock, “Why I’m Here Today: How Watercolor Gave Me a Second Career”
02-09 Dean Donald B. Young, “Trends and Challenges in Educating Teachers”
03-08 Dr. Richard Gould, “What happened? A Case Study in Disaster Archaeology”
04-12 Dan Boylan, “Boylan on Local and National Politics”