This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 2017-2018

Elected Officers


Karen Yamaga

Vice President:

Jacquie Maly



Sue Cowing

Board of Directors

Ced Cowing, Program Chairman

John Hall

Victor Kobayashi

Bart Mathias, Webmaster, Announcement Editor


09-12 Film about W.S. Merwin, “Even Though the Whole World is Burning”
10-10 Dr. Miriam Stark, “Archeological Approaches to Glory that was Angkor”
11-14 Allison Yap, on UHM’s Study Abroad Program
12-05 Rick Blangiardi, “The Media and the University”
01-09 Dr. Warren Nishimoto, “Talking Hawaii’s Story: The Center for Oral History at UHM”
02-13 Dr. Karen Yamaga, “Why Heart Mountain’s Story is Relevant Today”
03-13 Patti Epler, Ben Nishimoto, “Civil Beat Hawaii News”
04-10 Dr. Jacqueline Maly conducted “A Field Trip to the Hokulani Imaginarium at Windward Community College”
05-08 Michael Jones and Laura Ruby, “The Beginning and End of the Bomb”