This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 1999-2000

Elected Officers



Vice President:

Charlotte Oser


LoRaine Carlson


Ruth Brantley

Elected Members-at-Large

Reed Brantley

Roy McArdle

Norman Mellor

Bob Cole

Jim McCutcheon

Ex-Officio Members and Committee Chairs

Ira Lichton, Past President


09/09 Dr. Roger T. Ames, Director, Center for Chinese Studies, “Continuing the Conversation with China on Human Rights”
10/14 Elizabeth Meahl, Community Health Development, “Geriatric Nutrition”
11/18 Dr. David S. McClain, Henry A. Walker Distinguished Professor of Business Enterprise & Professor of Financial Economics and Institutions, “Investing in the Millennium”
12/09 (At Treetops Restaurant) Karl Kim re city planning was scheduled as of 10/14 board minutes
01/13 Dr. Kenneth P. Mortimer, President, UH, and Chancellor, UHM
03/09 The Hon. Mike McCormack (D-WA), “Science Literacy: Critical in Our Society”