This is based on a history by Agnes Niyekawa written probably in 1995 or 1996, supplemented with documents from the following years. Corrections and additions are most welcome.

Following up on a suggestion made by Chancellor Dick Kosaki at a reception for retirees in the Spring of 1985, one Wytze Gorter sent out 341 questionnaires to retired faculty on September 16th to gauge their interest in establishing a retiree’s association. All but five of the 201 who responded supported the idea. All but one of them were willing to pay “as much as $5” dues, and 75 volunteered to help organize and/or operate the association.
The first meeting was held 22 January 1986, a party in the Campus Center Ballroom, with Gorter the first president. By that time, the FRA had changed its name to FRAUHM, but it was noted that the “Faculty” at the beginning of the name and the “Manoa” at the end were not meant to exclude retirees from other campuses, or retired staff.
Quick links to academic years:

Officers and Board members, 1996-1997

Elected Officers


Sid Townsley

1st Vice President:


2nd Vice President:

L. Ralph Berger


Ira Lichton


Agnes Niyekawa

Board Members

(to 1997)

Jim Burgoyne

Kay Wery

Toshio Yatsushiro

Don Char

Tony Lenzer (for Ralph Berger)

(to 1998)

Rohma Bowers

Paul Durham

Roy McArdle

Anastacio Palafox

Sheldon Varney


09/12 Prof. Robert Cole, on the Institute for Lifelong Learning?
10/09 (Wednesday) One-hour tour of Lyon Arboretum
11/14 Prof. E. Alison Kay, “What Darwin Didn’t Know”
12/12 Catered luncheon, Campus Center Executive Dining Room ($10; guests $13)
01/09 Prof. Michael Hadfield, “Biology-Ecology of Hawaiian Tree Snails”
02/13 Prof. Emeritus George Akita, “Doing Research the Hard Way; Is This Really Retirement?”
03/13 Dr. Hugh V. Everly, Threats to the State of Hawaii Retirement and Health Systems”
04/10 Prof. Duane Preble, Looking for the Heart of Education”
05/08 Businuess meeting, elections, luncheon at Ala Wai Golf Course Clubhouse dining room

Important Board Decisions and Discussions

11/14 S. Townsley to appoint committee for revision of by-laws, chaired by A. Lenzer.
04/24 Made decisions as to what by-law changes would be proposed to the general membership.