Pettit, Jonathan 裴玄錚

CCS Faculty

Associate Professor of Daoism

Curriculum Vitae

Office: Sakamaki Hall A-306
E-mail: jeep [at] hawaii.edu

Background and Research Interests

I was raised in southern Indiana, and began studying Japanese in middle school. As an undergraduate student, I switched from Japanese to Mandarin Chinese, a decision that has guided my life over the past two decades. My research interest in the production of Daoist and Buddhist scriptures (and everything in between) led me to ask questions about its historical development. As a graduate student, first at the University of Colorado at Boulder and later in Indiana, I studied the scriptural traditions of medieval China. My dissertation examined the lives of Buddhist and Daoist leaders in the fourth and fifth centuries, with a particular emphasis on Tao Hongjing, a polymath famous for writing about drugs, meditation, and ritual. With the aid of Fulbright, Luce/ACLS, and Chiang Ching-kuo Foundations, I was able to engage in extensive overseas research in China and Taiwan.

Since graduating in 2013, I have lectured at UC Berkeley and Purdue University. While at Purdue, I was also the Associate Director of the Center on Religion and Chinese Society where I was a co-PI on a large grant to support research on contemporary Chinese religions. I also led study tours of eastern China and Greater Tibet.

I recently published a book with Chao-jan Chang of Fujen University that explores how Daoist scriptures were altered and changed over time. I am also working on another book examining temple construction in medieval Daoist communities. I am a steering committee member of the Global Daoist Studies Forum, the co-chair of the Daoist Studies Unit of AAR, and the chair of the Hawai‘i International Conference on Chinese Studies.

Education

• Dual Ph.D. Indiana University, April 2013 (Religious Studies and Chinese Literature)
  • M.A. University of Colorado at Boulder, May 2004 (Chinese Literature)