skip to Main Content

National Taiwan University

Program Terms:

Spring Semester & Academic Year


Founded in 1928 as Taihoku Imperial University and became National Taiwan University in 1945. NTU has total enrollment of over 30,000 students and made up of 12 Colleges, 54 departments, 108 graduate institutes, and 18 Master’s and PhD degree programs, granting around 7,800 degrees annually. The University also boasts a number of international and national research centers, as well as four dozen university-level research centers.

(Source: National Taiwan University “NTU at a Glance” 2015)

Academic Details:

NTU’s programs cover a wide array of disciplines across science, arts, and the humanities, with up to 8,000 courses made available for selection each semester. The 12 colleges include: Liberal Arts, Engineering, Science, Social Science, Law, Bio-Resources and Agriculture, Management, Public Health, Electrical Engineering & Computer Science, Medicine, Life Science, Professional Education & Continuing Studies.

(Source: National Taiwan University “Academics” 2015)

Housing Details:

Housing for exchange students is guaranteed. Students must fill out NTU online housing application by the deadline. The University provides several dormitory options, which include Prince House, Guo Qing dorm (also known as the International Youth center) and General Dorms.

There are two Prince House dormitories: Chang-Hsing Dormitory and Shui-Yuan Dormitory, which are both located near the campus. Internet and water are included in the rent, but electricity, telephone, and cable TV bills are separate.

(Source: National Taiwan University, Office of International Affairs “Accommodation” 2018)


  • Sophomore standing
  • 2.5 cumulative GPA
  • Students with only Taiwanese nationality are not eligible

Useful Links for Exchange Students:

Program Budgets:

Back To Top