Affiliate Members and Visitors

page last updated Spring 2024

1a. UHM Emeriti and Retired Members in Japanese Studies

George Akita, PhD, Professor Emeritus of History
Tokiko Yamamoto Bazzell, MLS/MA Librarian Emerita of Library
William Wayne Farris, PhD, Professor Emeritus of History
John H Haig, PhD, Retired Professor of Linguistics
Kyoko Hijirida, PhD, Retired Professor of Japanese
Robert N. Huey, PhD, Retired Professor of Japanese
Ken Ito, PhD, Retired Professor of Japanese Literature
Mary Grace McDonald, PhD, Retired Professor of Geography, Former Director of CJS
Kazuo Nishiyama, PhD, Professor Emeritus of Speech
Nobuko Ochner, PhD, Professor Emerita of Japanese
Gay Satsuma, PhD, Japanese History, former Associate Director of CJS
Patricia Steinhoff, PhD, Retired Professor of Sociology, Former Director of CJS
George J. Tanabe Jr., PhD, Professor Emeritus of Religion
Willa Jane Tanabe, PhD, Professor Emerita of Art History
Arthur Thornhill, PhD, Retired Professor of Japanese Literature
Christine Yano, PhD, Retired Professor of Anthropology

1b.  UHM Faculty with academic interests in Japan

Chizuko T Allen, PhD, Coordinator of Fellowships and Institutional Research, SPAS
Christopher Yohmei Blasdel, MFA, Lecturer in Music, Ethnomusicology
Stewart Curry, PhD, Japanese language instructor
Saori Doi, PhD, Chair of International Programs at UHM Outreach College
Elina G. Asato Hamilton, PhD, Assistant Professor of Music
Tomoko Iwai, PhD, Japanese language instructor
Masaru Mito, MA, Japanese language instructor
Emi Murayama, PhD, Japanese language instructor
Kevin Nute, PhD, Professor of Architecture
Miki Ogasawara, MA, Japanese language instructor
Akiko Ono Riley, BA, Way of Tea Practicum instructor
Grace Ray, MA, Japanese language instructor
Yumiko Tateyama, PhD, Japanese language instructor
Hiromi Uchida, MA, Japanese language instructor
Yuka Wada, MA, Japanese language instructor
C K Patrick Woo, PhD, Japanese language instructor

1c.  Japanese Studies Faculty at other institutions

Timothy George, PhD, Professor Emeritus of History, University of Rhode Island
Kathryn Ibata-Arens, PhD, Vinent de Paul Professor of Political Science, DePaul University (effective 12/1/2024 to 6/30/2026)
Marta Sanvido, PhD, Glorisun Research Fellow in East Asian Buddhism at the University of Hamburg (Germany), former Shinjo Ito Postdoctoral Fellow (2021-2023) at the University of California, Berkeley (AY 2023-2024)
Fumiaki Kobayashi, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Sociology, Meiji University (AY 2023-2024)
Mayumi Yukimura, PhD, Professor, Department of Sociology, Kansai University (until 9/5/2024)
Tomomi Nishikawa, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Language and Culture, Ochanomizu University (AY 2023-2024)

[ page last updated Spring 2024 ]