Architecture 201
2410 Campus Road
Honolulu, HI 96822
Tel: (808) 956-7225
Fax: (808) 956-7778

Dean: William R. Chapman, PhD


*Graduate Faculty

*R. Akiona, MS—construction management
*S. M. Bussiere, MLA—landscape architecture and urbanism
*M. Despang, MArch— structures
*D. S. Friedman, MArch, PhD, FAIA—architectural and urban theory, public space, professional ethics and education
*B. Kanisthakhon, MArch—design, construction materials and processes
*C. Llewellyn, MArch, FAIA—design, global practice
*L. McGuire, PhD—architectural and design history, theory, and criticism
*W. Meguro, SMArchS, LEED AP—sustainable buildings/community design
*P. Miao, PhD—architectural/urban design, Chinese architecture
*K. Nute, PhD—architectural history, theory and design
*H. J. Park, PhD— design computing, optimization, affordable housing
*D. Rockwood, MArch—design, construction materials and processes
C. H. Schar, MArch—community design, professional practice
*S. Sierralta, MArch—architectural design, design communication
*J. Stilgenbauer, MLA— landscape architecture, urban design
*L. Walters, MArch—design, digital fabrication
P. White, MLA—landscape architecture, hydrological risk

Cooperating Faculty

J. A. Dator, PhD—political science
A. J. Kaufman, PhD—landscape specialist
K. E. Kim, PhD—planning
L. Minerbi, MCD, Dott Arch, MUP—planning

General Information


The study of architecture and landscape architecture allows students to generate physical solutions to complex environmental design problems that often have competing economic, social, and political parameters. The built environment professions attract those who have a wide range of interests and skills and wish to make a unique contribution to society.

Vision: Global Connections

The School of Architecture inspires transformative design at the global scale with preeminence in the Asia-Pacific region.

Mission Statement: Building for the 21st Century

The School of Architecture responds to our unique location in the Asia-Pacific region and recognizes the privilege and responsibility to address cultural, environmental, and social diversity. We commit to passionate and engaging community participation through teaching, learning, research, professional practice, and service.

DArch Accreditation Notice

In the U.S., most state registration boards require a degree from an accredited professional degree program as a prerequisite for licensure. The National Architectural Accrediting Board (NAAB), which is the sole agency authorized to accredit professional degree programs in architecture offered by institutions with U.S. regional accreditation, recognizes three types of degrees: the Bachelor of Architecture, the Master of Architecture, and the Doctor of Architecture. A program may be granted an eight-year, three-year, or two-year term of accreditation, depending on the extent of its conformance with established educational standards.

Doctor of Architecture and Master of Architecture degree programs may require a pre-professional undergraduate degree in architecture for admission. However, the pre-professional degree is not, by itself, recognized as an accredited degree.

The School of Architecture offers the following NAAB-accredited degree program:

Doctor of Architecture

  • Track I: (preprofessional degree in architecture [126/120 credits] + 90 graduate credits)
  • Track II: (non-professional degree [120 credits min.] + 108 graduate credits)

Next accreditation visit: 2026