Hui Po'okela Mortar Board chapter receives national award

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Nov 2, 2012

The Hui Po’okela chapter at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa was among the outstanding Mortar Board chapters to be recognized at the 2012 Mortar Board National Conference, held in Chicago in late July.
The Hui Po’okela chapter received the Silver Torch Award. This honor is presented to chapters executing timeliness and dedication while exemplifying the ideals of scholarship, leadership and service. Silver Torch Award recipients are selected based on a review of national records, requiring that the chapter meet all of the national minimum standards and deadlines.
Chapter president Caroline Amelse was present to accept the chapter’s award.
Mortar Board is the premier national honor society recognizing college seniors for outstanding achievement in scholarship, leadership and service. Since its founding in 1918, the Society has grown from four to 229 chartered collegiate chapters with more than a quarter-million members across the nation. The Hui Po’okela chapter at the University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa was chartered in 1965 and currently has 18 members.
Mortar Board provides opportunities for continued leadership development, promotes service to colleges and universities and encourages lifelong contributions to the global community. Some notable Mortar Board members include pioneering engineer Lillian Gilbreth, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Emmy-winning actor Rue McClanahan, astronauts Judith Resnik and Janice Voss, adventurer Aron Ralston and lifestyle expert Bruce Littlefield. Learn more about Mortar Board at