Professor Jon Van Dyke's legacy to be showcased at Law School reunion

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Cynthia Quinn, (808) 956-7966
Associate Dean for Student Services, William S. Richardson School of Law
Bev Creamer, (808) 389-5736
Media Consultant, William S. Richardson School of Law
Posted: Sep 25, 2012

The William S. Richardson School of Law's Ninth Annual All Class Reunion on Friday, September 28, will showcase “The Life, Legend and Legacy of Beloved Professor Jon Markham Van Dyke,” who passed away last November 29.
Van Dyke, a leading legal scholar and practitioner in international law, human rights, environmental, ocean and constitutional law, died suddenly of a heart attack last year while attending a conference in Australia. He joined the Law School faculty in 1976 and was one of its outstanding members.

The reunion, sponsored by the Alumni Association, will be held from 5:30 to 9:30 p.m. at the Hale Koa Hotel, Waikiki Ballroom, and will celebrate the classes of 1977, 1982, 1987, 1992, 2002, 2007 and 2012.

It will honor three special alumni:

Calvin E. Young, Class of 1982, of Ayabe Chong Nishimoto Sia & Nakamura, will receive the Outstanding Alumnus Award.

Rebecca Lynne Dayhuff, Class of 2007, of Goodsill Anderson Quinn & Stifel, will receive the Dean’s Award.

Rosemary T. Fazio, Class of 1978, of Ashford & Wriston, LLP, will receive the  Public Service Award.

Dean Avi Soifer said, “It is fitting that we honor these three exceptional community leaders at the same time that we celebrate the legacy of Professor Jon Van Dyke, whose contributions to diverse elements of our community and to the national and international quest for justice made him much-beloved and truly irreplaceable.”