Law School achieves high Scholarly Impact Scores in new national study

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Cynthia Quinn, 956-7986
Associate Dean for Student Services, Law School
Bev Creamer, 956-6545
Media Consultant, Law School
Posted: Jul 19, 2012

A new report evaluating the impact of the scholarship produced by the faculty of America’s top law schools places the William S. Richardson School of Law in 52nd place in the nation on the strength of law journal citations to publications by its faculty.
The Scholarly Impact Study, conducted by four professors at the University of St. Thomas School of Law in Minnesota, ranks the top third of all ABA-accredited law schools. 
Principal author Gregory C. Sisk notes that the University of Hawaii's Law School has achieved Scholarly Impact Scores “well above the rankings assigned by U.S. News."  Sisk also says that the law faculties ranked in the study “have concretely demonstrated a collective commitment to legal scholarship.”

Said Richardson Law School Dean Avi Soifer, “We are gratified that the important scholarly work of our faculty is widely recognized. On the other hand, this study does not include books and chapters published by law faculty members and our Law School has a particularly distinguished record in that category as well.”

Soifer added, “What may be even more noteworthy is that our students directly benefit from a wonderful faculty/student ratio and they get to learn directly from outstanding scholars who are also exceptional teachers.”

The authors of the study explain that they calculated impact scores from both the mean and median of total law journal citations over the past five years of tenured members of each law school’s faculty.

The study cites 10 Richardson Law School faculty members for their outstanding scholarly work and law journal citations. In alphabetical order, they are Associate Dean Denise Antolini, Hazel Beh, David Callies, Linda Krieger, Charles R. Lawrence III, Justin D. Levinson, Mari J. Matsuda, Jill J. Ramsfield, Dean Avi Soifer and Eric Yamamoto.