Excellence in teaching, research honored at 2014 Manoa Awards Ceremony

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Diane Chang, (808) 956-0391
Director of Communications, Office of the Chancellor
Posted: May 2, 2014

Group shot of the 2014 Manoa Awards honorees.
Group shot of the 2014 Manoa Awards honorees.

UH Mānoa recognized its finest faculty, staff and students with various teaching, research and service awards on April 30 at its 2014 Mānoa Awards Ceremony in Orvis Auditorium.  Chancellor Tom Apple and campus leadership were joined by the awardees and their students, colleagues, family and friends to celebrate the accomplishments of these individuals.

Said Chancellor Apple, “Great people make great universities, and UH Mānoa is great because of these award winners.  Today, we recognize 28 individuals and say thank you for a job well done."

The 2014 Manoa Awards winners are:

Board of Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Teaching: Paul Lavy, Hyoung-June Park, Kavita Rao, Dana Kapua‘ala Sproat, Alice Tse and Annette Ku‘uipolani Wong

Board of Regents’ Medal for Excellence in Research: Ruth Gates, Andrew Howard and Nicholas Kaiser

Student Excellence in Research: Chino Cabalteja and Jabran Zahid

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching: David Garmire

Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching for a Graduate Assistant: Angela Haeusler and Jacob Terrell

Peter V. Garrod Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award: William C. Howes

Robert W. Clopton Award for Outstanding Service to the Community: Colette Browne

Chancellor’s Citation for Meritorious Teaching: Aurelio S. Agcaoili, Dominic C. Chow, Priyam Das, Roderick N. Labrador and Loriena A. Yancura

Chancellor’s Award for Outstanding Service: Edward C. Cashman Jr., Marla Fergerstrom and Charles Pu‘uohau

Outstanding Academic Advisor: Kathleen Normandin

Outstanding Advising Unit of the Year: Department of Biology

Student Employee of the Year: Tory Watanabe

For profiles of the awardees, go to http://manoa.hawaii.edu/chancellor/awards/.

(Caption) A group shot of the 2014 Manoa Awards honorees at Orvis Auditorium.  In center, with tan pants, is Chancellor Tom Apple.  Student Regent Jeffrey Acido is at far left.