Delta Omega Society

Delta Omega Society logoDelta Omega is the honorary society for graduate studies in public health. Founded in 1924, there are currently 48 chapters throughout the US and Puerto Rico, including the Gamma Chapter for the University of Hawai‘i, Office of Public Health Studies, Department of Public Health Sciences.

The Delta Omega governing body, the National Council, is comprised of representatives from each chapter and elected officers. Annual meetings are normally conducted in conjunction with the APHA Annual Meeting. Each calendar year, the Gamma Chapter of the Delta Omega elects a select few new members from the following groups:

  • Students graduating with a degree in public health. Selection is limited to a maximum of 10% of the year's graduating student body who must be in the upper 25% academically.
  • Faculty members in the Department of Public Health Sciences with an exemplary record of teaching and research.
  • Alumni actively engaged in the public health arena whose service to the community would serve as a model for future graduates.
  • Honorary members possessing exceptional qualifications, who have attained meritorious distinction in the public health field.

Election to membership is intended to recognize merit and encourage further excellence in, and devotion to, public health work.

Membership in Delta Omega provides valuable benefits which include networking opportunities at annual reception held for all members, leadership development, serving as a Delta Omega Mentor, and discounts on publications and APHA membership dues.

For more information, visit the Delta Omega website. The website includes a national Delta Omega membership list.