Spring 2023 Tropical Medicine Student Awards

Several Tropical Medicine graduate and undergraduate students were recognized for outstanding achievement during the Spring 2023 semester.

Slide 3
Slide 2
Slide 1
Slide 3
Slide 3
Slide 3
Slide 3
Slide 3
previous arrowprevious arrow
next arrownext arrow

Tropical Medicine PhD student Troy Odo was selected to receive the Guy Moulton Yates ARCS Award in May 2023. The $5000 unrestricted grants provided by the ARCS Foundation Honolulu Chapter provide resources for professional travel, equipment and material and educational and personal expenses. Troy is a PhD student in Dr. Axel Lehrer’s laboratory and does research on the immune response to SARS-CoV-2 in vaccinated and infected individuals.

PhD student Aquena Ball (mentor: Axel Lehrer) and MS student Mallory Wilson (mentor: Saguna Verma) were each selected to receive the Chancellor Virginia S. Hinshaw Biomedical Research Scholarship. This $1500 scholarship is presented to students in four academic areas especially meaningful to Dr. Hinshaw: biomedical research, Native Hawaiian music, sustainability, and athletics.

The Windsor and Mary Cutting Award was given to Stefanos Giannakopoulos, a doctoral student in Dr. Saguna Verma’s laboratory. This award is given in honor of Dr. Windsor Cutting, founding Dean of JABSOM and his wife, Mary Cutting, a staunch supporter of the medical school. This $1500 award recognizes students for research excellence in a field related to pharmacology.

Two PhD students in the department, Aquena Ball (mentor: Axel Lehrer) and Stefanos Giannakopoulos (mentor: Saguna Verma) received recognition for their outstanding presentations at the annual JABSOM Biomedical Sciences & Health Disparities Symposium in April.

Finally, several Tropical Medicine undergraduate and graduate students received awards for their oral and poster research presentations at the Hawaii Branch of the American Society for Microbiology annual meeting held in April:

MS Oral Presentation
Isabelle Eiser, 1st placeMallory Wilson, 2nd place
PhD Oral Presentation
Aquena Ball, Colonel Person Research Achievement AwardOlivia Smith, HI-ASM Doctoral Presentation Travel Award
Stefanos Giannakopoulos, 1st placeLudwig Mayerlen, 3rd place
Undergraduate Poster Presentation
Yuewen Ding, 1st place
MS Poster Presentation
Bryan Rios, 1st placeMaansi Murty, 2nd place
PhD Poster Presentation
Thomas Ken Awamura, 1st placeTroy Odo, 2nd place
Yu-Ching Dai, 3rd place

Related content in UH Med Now: PhD candidate investigating the link between COVID-19 and testicular injury recognized with prestigious award.