Outdoor Classes


surfing hi k2

 

EFFECTIVE OCTOBER 2018: ALL SRS WATER BASED PROGRAM PARTICIPANTS ARE REQUIRED TO TAKE A BASIC SWIMMING TEST BEFORE SIGNING UP FOR CLASSES AND ACTIVITIES. PLEASE CLICK HERE FOR THE FLYER.

Rentals Office will be closed during Winter Break.


Beginning Surfing

Learn the water sport of Hawai'i!! This class is for beginners and transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

 

One Day Classes
$30 UHM Student & WRC Members
$35 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
**The maximum amount of spots per surfing class is 6.** Classes are held at Diamond Head.

 

Jan 24 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Jan 28 Tues (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 7 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 14 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 16 Sun (7:30am-10:30am)
Mar 7 Sat (7:30am-10:30am)
Mar 25 Wed (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Mar 28 Sat (7:30am-10:30am)
Apr 8 Wed (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 10 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 19 Sun (7:30am-10:30am)
May 1 Fri (3:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Stand-Up Paddling

Learn the basics of Stand-Up Paddling, one of the newest, fastest growing water sports. Participants must be able to swim. Transportation and equipment provided.

$30 UHM Student & WRC Members
$37 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Sand Island.

 

Jan 30 Thu (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 20 Thu (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Mar 11 Wed (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 16 Thu (3:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 28 Tue (3:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Body Boarding

Body Boarding is enjoyed at most beaches in the State of Hawai'i. Come learn the basics of body boarding and water safety at a beach with shore break. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim. Body boarding is limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. All excursions take place at Waimanalo

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Waimanalo.

 

Jan 26 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Feb 23 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Mar 8 Sun (9:00am-12:00pm)
Mar 28 Sat (1:30pm-4:30pm)
May 2 Sat (2:00pm-5:00pm)

 


Hiking

Explore the island of Oahu. Join organized hikes to scenic locations.

Transportation provided.

$7 UHM Student & WRC Members
$12 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Jan 12 Sun (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kaena Point
Jan 18 Sat (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kuli'ou'ou Ridge Trail
Feb 1 Sat (8:30am-12:30pm) - Makapu'u Tide Pools
Mar 7 Sat (12:30am-5:30pm) - Waimano Pools
Apr 5 Sun (8:00am-12:30pm) - Koko Head
Apr 26 Sun (8:30am-12:30pm) - Maunawili Falls
May 8 Fri (8:30am-12:00pm) - Manoa Falls

 


Kayaking Excursions

Excursions are lead to different parts of Oahu and are intended for the beginner kayaker. Learn kayak and water safety skills while experiencing different scenic areas around the island. Participating in a kayak excursion or class will allow you to take the kayak safety test and receive UH kayaker certification card enabling you to rent our kayaks. Excursions are limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$27 UHM Student & WRC Members
$32 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Jan 25 Sat (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kahana Bay
Feb 2 Sun (8:30am-12:30am) - Chinamanʻs Hat
Feb 9 Sun (8:30am-12:30pm) - Haleiwa River
Feb 22 Sat (7:00am-12:30pm) - Mokulua Island
Mar 29 Sun (10:00am-2:30pm) - Malekahana (Goat Isle)
Apr 11 Sat (7:00am-12:30pm) - Mokulua Islands
Apr 18 Sat (9:00am-1:30pm) - Chinaman's Hat
May 9 Sat (8:30am-1:30pm) - Kahana Bay

 


Introduction to Sailing

This one day class introduces participants to the basics of sailing while enjoying and taking part in a cruise around Keehi Lagoon aboard a 20' keel boat. Equipment and transportation provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

No classes scheduled at this time.

 


Beginner Sailing

This is a great opportunity to learn a great lifetime sport. Classes are taught in 20' keelboats and include both classroom and on-the-water sessions. Instruction will include basic sailing theory and concentrate on boat handling techniques at Keehi Lagoon. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Ke'ehi Lagoon.

 

Jan 25 - Feb 15 Sat (2:00pm-6:00pm)
Feb 16 - Mar 8 Sun (2:00pm-6:00pm)
Apr 5 - Apr 26 Sun (2:00pm-6:00pm)

 


Intermediate Sailing

Continue where you left off with the beginner class and learn more advanced sailing theory and boat handling techniques. This class gives you time to practice and gives you a taste of racing. Classes are taught in 20' keel boats and include both classroom and on the water sessions. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Apr 4 - Apr 25 Sat (2:30pm-6:30pm)

 


SCUBA

Discover the underwater beauty of the Pacific. Receive a NAUI/SSI Open Water Certification upon completion of the course. Classes are taught at the Duke Kahanamoku Aquatics Complex on campus. Participants MUST be able to swim and provide their own mask, fins, snorkel and transportation to the weekend dive sites. SCUBA Class sign up only at the lower Campus Office Athletics Building Rm 200

$220 UHM Student & WRC Members
$235 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Session 1

Jan 21, 23, 28, 30, Feb 1, 2
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Weekends: 7:15am


Session 2

Feb 11, 12, 18, 19, 22, 23
Tues/Wed Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Weekends: 7:15am


Session 3

Mar 31 Apr 2, 7, 9, 11, 12
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Weekends: 7:15am


Session 4

Apr 28, 30 May 5, 7, 9, 10
Tues/Thurs Evenings 6:00pm - 9:30pm
Weekends: 7:15am


*All SCUBA sign-ups should be done at the lower campus office Athletic Complex room 200.

 


Snorkeling

Explore the wonderful marine life that Hawai'i has to offer at Shark's Cove (North Shore, Oahu). Equipment and transportation provided for the first ten people. Participants MUST be able to swim!

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

Apr 25 Sat (8:30am-12:30pm)

May 3 Sun (8:30pm-12:30pm)