Skip to main content Skip to main navigation

Contributors to the Plan

Goal: Becoming a Native Hawaiian Place of Learning

  • Co-leads: Maenette Benham & Robert Bley-Vroman
  • Supported by: Kaiwipuni Lipe
  • Ka‘ōmaka Aki (student rep)
  • Nalani Balutksi
  • Kinohi Gomes
  • Josh Ka‘akua
  • Willy Kauai
  • Andy Sutton
  • Kapena Shim
  • Rosie Alegado
  • Lilikalā Kame‘eleihiwa
  • Melody Mackenzie
  • Nalani Minton
  • Kawika Tengan
  • Kalani Evensen
  • Clif Tanabe
  • Kapā Oliveira
  • Kahunawai Wright
  • Keawe Kaholokula
  • Julie Maeda
  • Noreen Mokuau
  • Jackie Ng-Osorio

The following people contributed to the crafting and articulation of the three goals aimed to be completed by 2025 in the Native Hawaiian Place of Learning section of the strategic report:

  • Mari Ono
  • ‘Ano‘ilani Aga
  • Daniela Bottjer-Wilson
  • Julienne K. Maeda
  • Noweo Kai
  • Nalani Minton
  • Kimo Cashman
  • Kamakana Aquino
  • Ilikea Silva
  • Winona K. Lee

Goal: Excellence in Student Success

  • Roxie M. Shabazz, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management
  • Lori M. Ideta, Interim Vice Chancellor for Students
  • Ron Cambra, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education
  • Deb Halbert, former Associate Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  • Krystyna Aune, Dean Graduate Division
  • Willy Kauai, Director of Native Hawaiian Student Services
  • Kaiwipuni Lipe, Native Hawaiian Affairs Specialist

  • Myhraliza Aala, STEM Marketing & Public Affairs Officer, Engineering
  • Leona Anthony, Director of Student Services, School of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
  • Peter Arnade, Dean, College of Arts and Humanities
  • Krystyna Aune, Dean, Graduate Division
  • Linda Duckworth, Director, International Student Services
  • Robin Hadwick, Assistant Dean, Shidler College of Business
  • Lori Ideta, Interim Vice Chancellor, Student Affairs
  • Shannon Johnson, Program Coordinator, Come Back to Mānoa
  • Willy Kauai, Director, Native Hawaiian Student Services
  • Lisa Kitagawa-Akagi, College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources
  • Eugene Lao, ASUH Student Representative
  • June Lee, Director of Student Services, School of Architecture
  • Henry Lew, Professor & Department Chair, John A. Burns School of Medicine
  • Niki Libarios, Advisor, College of Education
  • Julienne Maeda, Associate Graduate Dean, Graduate Division
  • Mari Ono, Director of Student Services, Myron B. Thompson School of Social Work
  • Roxie Shabazz, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Enrollment Management
  • Melvin Spencer, College of Education
  • Elisabeth Steele Hutchinson, Admission Director, William S. Richardson School of Law
  • Jan Taniguchi, (Retired) Associate Director, Office of Admissions
  • Ryan Yamaguchi, Associate Director, Office of Admissions

Goal: Excellence in Research: Advancing the Research and Creative Work Enterprise

The research strategic goal, objective, and areas articulated in this living document is a culmination of a three-year collaborative process involving contributions from members of the VCR Research Advisory Council (RAC) and RAC sub-committee working groups.

We would like to thank the Research Advisory Council Members over the last 3 years who have contributed to the development of the strategic initiatives and goals. We would also like to recognize the APT's, Administrators, and Faculty who contributed to the RAC sub-committee working groups, namely Reducing Research Administrative Burden, Advancing Research Development, Addressing Research Facilities and Shared Resources, Student Research and Creative Works, and Improving Communications about UH Manoa’s Research.

Authors of the Strategic Plan's research strategic goal section:
  • Michael Bruno
  • Velma Kameoka
  • Chad Walton

Goal: Building a Sustainable and Resilient Campus Environment