Legislature recognizes Law School on its 40th Anniversary

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Beverly A. Creamer, 808-389-5736
Media Consultant, William S. Richardson School of Law
Posted: Feb 18, 2014

Both the Hawai‘i Senate and House of Representatives presented UH Mānoa's William S. Richardson Law School Dean Avi Soifer with certificates of recognition on Friday, February 14, honoring the Law School on its 40th Anniversary.

The certificates were presented in brief ceremonies by Senator Brian Taniguchi for the Senate and Representative Linda Ichiyama for the House. Each is a graduate of the UH Mānoa Law School.

In remarks to the Senate during his presentation, Taniguchi recalled some of those early years at the Law School, including being “serenaded by pile-driving” by work in preparation for the UH swimming pool. He was a member of the third graduating class in 1978.

Taniguchi also gave homage to the school’s namesake, Chief Justice William S. Richardson, saying: “CJ Richardson believed all qualified residents of Hawai‘i should have the option of an excellent legal education.”

The Hawai‘i Supreme Court’s current Chief Justice, Mark Recktenwald, was in the gallery and joined Soifer for photos with legislators after being recognized with a number of Law School staff members.

Photo caption: UH Mānoa Law Dean Avi Soifer and Hawai'i Supreme Court Chief Justice Mark Recktenwald join members of the State Senate in the chamber for photos after the certificate presentation honoring the Law School's 40th Anniversary. Photo courtesy of Hawai'i State Senate.