University of Hawaii Alumni Association Announces Its 2001 Distinguished Alumni Awards Honorees

University of Hawaiʻi
Posted: May 14, 2001

HONOLULU - The University of Hawaii Alumni Association will honor sevenoutstanding alumni at its annual Distinguished Alumni Awards Dinner, 5:30p.m. on Wednesday, May 16, 2001 at the Sheraton Waikiki Hotel.

The honorees are:

Naleen Naupaka Andrade

Naleen Naupaka Andrade (BA '76, MD '82) is the chair of the John A. BurnsSchool of Medicine's Department of Psychiatry. She manages 40 faculty members,develops strong psychiatric resident and medical education programs andbrings in over $12 million in contracts and grants. Andrade tirelessly worksto meet the health needs of native Hawaiians and was instrumental in convincingCongress to pass the Native Hawaiian Health Care Act. Her commitment tothe community goes beyond her medical expertise. In 1979 she took a leaveof absence from the medical school to organize and implement the restorationof Kahikolu Congressional Church in South Kona. She is also chair of theboard of trustees at Queen's Medical Center and a Fellow of the AmericanPsychiatric Association. She is the recipient of numerous honors includingUH Hilo's Distinguished Alumni Award, Sigma Xi Outstanding Research Award,Na Pokii Hawaiian Scholars Award and the Best Doctors of the America-PacificRegion.

Jack S. Fritz

Jack S. Fritz (BA '73, JD '79) is speaker of the Federated States ofMicronesia (FSM) Congress. He was one of the first students from Micronesiato graduate from the UH William S. Richardson School of Law. Fritz representedthe State of Chuuk in Congress for more than 20 years and has been its speakerfor more than a decade. He plays a crucial role in guiding this young nationtoward stability, political maturity and economic development. Fritz deliveredhis nation,s acceptance speech when FSM was admitted to the United Nationsin 1991. A strong UH supporter, he actively encourages students from Micronesiato enroll at UH and supports the law school's efforts to provide specialtraining and educational programs for the judges in Micronesia. He is amember of the Chuuk state, Pohnpei state and FSM Supreme Court Bar Associationsand is the president of the FSM National Group for the Asia-Pacific Parliamentarians,Union.

Haruyuki Kamemoto

Haruyuki Kamemoto (BS '44, MS '47) is professor emeritus of the university'sDepartment of Horticulture. Born and raised on a flower farm in Manoa, hisearly interest in flowers led to his bachelor,s, master,s and doctoral degrees.After receiving his PhD from Cornell, he returned to the UH Manoa horticulturedepartment. His diligent research resulted in 34 seed-propagated dendrobiumorchid varieties and 36 anthurium varieties, many of which have become industrystandards. He has been cited for his work on tropical flowers, particularlyhis breakthrough research in dendrobium orchid breeding behavior. His orchidresearch also played a major role in taking Hawaiʻi's dendrobium industryfrom a $150,000 enterprise in 1970 to $15.4 million in 1997. Kamemoto receivednumerous honors including the Society of American Florists Hall of Fame,Fellow of the American Society of Horticultural Science, American OrchidSociety Gold Medal of Achievement and the UH Regents, Medal for Excellencein Research.

Robert N. Katayama

Robert N. Katayama (BA '50) is president of Kapolei Holding Corporation.He served in the 442nd Regimental Combat Team. After graduating from YaleLaw School, he entered the Judge Advocate General. During his army careerhe received 24 decorations and awards. After leaving the army, Katayamajoined Baker and McKenzie, the nation's largest law firm. He later returnedto Hawaii, where he joined Carlsmith Ball. Katayama has been listed in Who'sWho in America, Who's Who in American Law and Who's Who in the West. Hisvolunteer activities mirror his professional accomplishments. His leadershippositions include the 442nd Veterans Club, the Oahu AJA Veterans Club andthe Japanese Cultural Center. Katayama is a longtime UH supporter and hasserved on the dean's advisory council of the law school, the Hawaii NikkeiHistory Editorial Board for Japanese Eyes, American Heart and the planningcommittee of Universal Values in a Democratic Society: Nisei Veteran EndowedForum Series.

Lydia L. W. Tsui

Lydia L. W. Tsui (BBA '75) is president of Panda Travel, Inc., the largestwholesale travel company in Hawaii in sales, volume and market share. Hersuccess in business is matched only by her success in the community. Tsuigenerated more than $100,000 for various community organizations, includingthe Hurricane Iniki Relief Fund and the McKinley High School ScholarshipFund. Her belief that communities are only as good as its citizens can beseen in her longtime support of Hawaii police officers. She served on thepolice commission and assisted in initiating neighborhood watch programs.She was recognized by the Honolulu chief of police for improving the qualityof life in Chinatown. Her support of UH athletics is also well known. Duringthe late 1990s when revenue, attendance and general support of athleticswas at its lowest point, she supported UH marketing efforts to motivatethe community to reconnect with the athletics program.

Edwin S. N. Wong

The late Edwin S. N. Wong (BA '51) was chair, president and chief operatingofficer of Waterhouse, Inc. During his successful business career, Wongnever forgot his alma mater. As a longtime supporter of UH athletics, heand the late Alexander Waterhouse founded the official football boosterclub, Na Koa. Without Na Koa, athletics would have experienced shortfallsin many programs. Wong also served the University in other capacities -past chair of UH Foundation Board of Trustees, member of the Executive Committeeand Advisory Board for the School of Travel Industry Management, memberof the University of Hawaii President's Club and life member of the UH AlumniAssociation. He was also an active community supporter. He served as chairof the Blood Bank of Hawaii, chair and life member of the Chamber of Commerceof Hawai, chair and life member of the Hawaii Visitors Bureau and chairof the board of the Rehabilitation Hospital of the Pacific.

Kane S. Fernandez

In addition, a special UHAA President's Award will be presented the lateKane S. Fernandez (BBA '58). Fernandez and his family name are synonymouswith family entertainment throughout the State of Hawaii. A lifelong businessman,showman, and community leader, Kane was the son of E.K. and Rose Fernandez,founders of the entertainment company best known for its carnivals. Aftergraduating from Punahou School in 1954, he received a Bachelor of BusinessAdministration from the University of Hawaii. Following a four-and-a-halfyear stint in the United States Navy, he returned home to join the familybusiness and eventually became the president and chief executive of FernandezEntertainment, Inc. In 1976, he received the first Oo Award for OutstandingHawaiian Businessman presented by the Hawaiian Business and ProfessionalAssociation. In addition to his reputation as an astute businessman, hewas involved in a number of civic activities and developed a reputationfor his commitment to education and youth. Known to his friends as an avidfisherman, a world traveler, a wonderful friend with a great sense of humor,and a generous philanthropist, he had a strong commitment to educating generationsof our state's children. He served on the boards of the Boys and Girls Club,Hawaii Theatre Center, the Bishop Museum, Variety School and the Universityof Hawaii Foundation.

Tickets are still available for this event by calling 956-ALUM (2586).The cost is $60 per person or premium tables can be purchased for $1000,$2,000 and $3,000.


NOTE: Digital photos of the honorees are available. Please call Jim Mankeat 956-6106.