Medical professor selected as Fulbright Specialist

Dr. Timothy Dye to collaborate on infectious disease research at Institut Pasteur in Paris

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Tina M. Shelton, (808) 692-0897
Director of Communications, Office of Dean of Medicine
Posted: Jun 11, 2012

Dr. Timothy Dye
Dr. Timothy Dye
Dr. Timothy Dye, Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology at the John A. Burns School of Medicine (JABSOM), has been selected for a Fulbright Specialists project in Paris, France, at the world-renowned Institut Pasteur, according to the U.S. Department of State and the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board.
Dye will collaborate with the faculty of the Epidemiology and Emerging Infectious Diseases unit at Institut Pasteur on expanding its global health graduate training program, largely focused on infectious disease in Africa. Dye and colleagues will also focus upon forging new collaborations between the Institut and JABSOM around global public health research and education.
Dye is one of over 400 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad this year through the Fulbright Specialists Program. The Fulbright Specialists Program, created in 2000 to complement the traditional Fulbright Scholar Program, provides short-term academic opportunities (two to six weeks) to prominent U.S. faculty and professionals to support curricular and faculty development and institutional planning at post-secondary, academic institutions around the world.
The Fulbright Program, America’s flagship international educational exchange activity, is sponsored by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs. Over its 60 years of existence, thousands of U.S. faculty and professionals have taught, studied or conducted research abroad, and thousands of their counterparts from other countries have engaged in similar activities in the United States.
Over 285,000 emerging leaders in their professional fields have received Fulbright awards, including individuals who later became heads of government, Nobel Prize winners, and leaders in education, business, journalism, the arts and other fields.

For more information, visit: