Southeast Asia

Southeast Asia CollectionSoutheast Asia collection includes ten different countries with ten different national languages with numerous dialects. In addition, the ten nations (Brunei, Cambodia, East Timor, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore, Thailand, and Vietnam) that presently make up Southeast Asia have been occupied by the nations and cultures of China, Japan, France, Great Britain, Spain, Portugal, the Netherlands, and the United States. All have left their imprints on the indigenous language, culture, and history of the region. Retrospective materials on the areas were issued in all of those western languages Extensive research on Southeast Asia requires high level competency in Southeast Asian vernacular languages and dialects.

The Southeast Asia collection is especially strong in the vernacular languages and dialects of the ten countries that make up the Southeast Asia collection. Publications in several western languages (Dutch, English, French, German, and Portuguese) are also acquired. The Southeast Asia audio-visual collections on DVDs and VCDs, are available to students and faculty. In addition, library users also have access to numerous Southeast Asia audio-visual materials streamed through several online databases such as Films On Demand, Asia Pacific Films, and Asian Film Online.

The collection is a member of the Southeast Asia Digital Library that provides access to digitized primary and secondary sources on Southeast Asia. The collection is a longstanding member of Southeast Asia Microfilm Project (SEAM), under the auspices of the Center for Research Libraries (CRL).

Visit Southeast Asia Research Guide

Back To Top