• November 1, 2018 – Reparative Justice for the Peoples of Micronesia: Melding Law, Politics, and Community Organizing for Social Change. Join us as we welcome, Dina Shek, Faculty Specialist and the Legal Director and co-founder of the Medical-Legal Partnership for Children in Hawaiʻi, Dr. Joakim “Jojo” Peter, a commissioner on the Hawaiʻi Civil Rights Commission and a community advocate for COFA Community Advocacy Network (COFA-CAN), Micronesian Health Advisory Coalition, and We Are Oceania, and Eddie Iosinto Yeichy, a third year law student and Ulu Lehua Scholar who has always had a passion to serve the Micronesian community. Moderated by Troy Andrade, Assistant Professor and Director of the Ulu Lehua Scholars Program.

L to R: Panelists, community members and students join in for a group photo.

  • October 11, 2018 – Davis v. Guam and the Death Knell of Difference: A Conversation with Julian Aguon. Julian, lead counsel in Davis v. Guam, is defending Guam’s decolonization process and the right of the native inhabitants to express, by plebiscite, their views regarding their desired future political relationship with the United States.

L to R: Post JD Legal Fellow Letani Peltier ʻ17, Prof. Melody MacKenzie ʻ76, Julian Aguon ʻ09, Dean Avi Soifer, Prof. Kapua Sproat ʻ98, Prof. Susan Serrano ʻ98.

  • September 6, 2018 – An Unjust Burden: The Disparate Impact of the Criminal Justice System on Native Hawaiians and other Pacific Islanders. Join us as we welcome Professor Ken Lawson, Co-Director of the Hawaiʻi Innocence Project, Tyler Gomes (ʻ12), former felony trial attorney at the Office of the Public Defender Oʻahu Office, and Kamaile Maldonado, a Public Policy Advocate at the Office of Hawaiian Affairs.

L to R: Tyler Gomes ʻ12, Prof. Ken Lawson, Kamaile Maldonado, Prof. Susan Serrano ʻ98.

  • April 5, 2018 – The Recognition of Māori Custom & Values in New Zealand’s General Law: Lessons for Hawaiʻi and Kānaka Maoli. Join us as we welcome Justice Joe Williams, one of Aotearoa’s leading specialists on Māori land rights law, language, and resource management. Justice Williams was appointed a permanent Judge of the Court of Appeal of New Zealand in February 2018.  He is the first te reo Māori speaker appointed to the Court of Appeal. Moderated by Prof. Melody MacKenzie.

L to R: Kealiʻi Sagum ’19, Jocelyn Doane ’07, Justice Joe Williams, Prof. Melody MacKenzie ’76, Prof. Susan Serrano ’98, Mahina Tuteur ’14, Luʻukia Nakanelua ’19, Prof. Kapua Sproat ’98

  • March 1, 2018 – Lost in Translation: ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and the Law. We will continue our discussion of significant developments that came out of the 1978 Constitutional Convention and how they continue to impact the Maoli community today. Panelists will discuss how constitutional provisions relating to ʻŌlelo Hawaiʻi and Hawaiian education have helped the language revitalization movement both in the classroom and courtroom, and where we go from here. Moderated by Luʻukia Nakanelua and Kealiʻi Sagum, 2L students and Alakaʻi of the ʻAhahui o Hawaiʻi. Speakers: Sharley Manley, Litigation Director of the Native Hawaiian Legal Corporation, and Amy Kalili ʻ06, Executive Director of Makauila, Inc.

    L to R: Luʻukia Nakanelua ’19, Sharla Manley, Amy Kalili ’06, Kealiʻi Sagum ’19

  • February 1, 2018 – Hawaiʻi 78: Where We Went and Where We Go From Here. Talk #1: ʻĀina. As we consider the upcoming 2018 vote for a constitutional convention, John Waiheʻe III will open a series of critical dialogues on the impacts of Hawaiʻi’s 1978 Constitutional Convention (ConCon), bringing together delegates, scholars and community leaders. The first discussion on ‘Āina will focus on how the ConCon continues to affect the governance of land, water and other natural resources.  Moderated by Hawai‘inuiākea School of Hawaiian Knowledge Interim Dean Jonathan K.K. Osorio. Speakers: Former Governor John D. Waiheʻe III ‘76, Walter Ritte Jr., Professor Malia Akutagawa ‘97, Professor Kamanamaikalani Beamer, Ph.D.  

L to R: Interim Dean of Hawai‘inuiākea School of Hawaiian Knowledge Jonathan K.K. Osorio, Professor Kamanamaikalani Beamer, Ph.D., Walter Ritte Jr., Professor Malia Akutagawa ‘97, former Governor John D. Waiheʻe III ‘76.