skip to Main Content

Photo Name Office Phone Email
Keawe Lopes
DIRECTOR
SPAL 256 956-6677 rlopes@hawaii.edu
Kaliko Baker SPAL 256 956-3555 cbaker@hawaii.edu
Kainehe Chun-Lum SPAL 253 956-4321 jchunlum@hawaii.edu
Frank Damas SPAL 256
Kahikina de Silva SPAL 252 956-3553 kahikina.desilva@hawaii.edu
Lalepa Koga SPAL 464 956-3562 rkoga@hawaii.edu
Kahealani Lono SPAL 252 956-3383 lono@hawaii.edu
Kawehi Lucas SPAL 252 956-6140 lucaskat@hawaii.edu
Kaliko Martin
Lolena Nicholas SPAL 453A 956-2228 fpn@hawaii.edu
Kapā Oliveira SPAL 457 956-2625 kapa.oliveira@hawaii.edu
Alicia Rozet SPAL 252 956-4321 aliciap@hawaii.edu
Maya Saffery SPAL 253B 956-4028 msaffery@hawaii.edu
Presley Sang SPAL 256 956-4599 presleya@hawaii.edu
Kekeha Solis SPAL 455 956-2627 rsolis@hawaii.edu
Haʻalilio Williams-Solomon SPAL 256 956-4321 noahws@hawaii.edu
Kapōmaikaʻi Stone SPAL 252 956-4321 jstone@hawaii.edu
Ipo Wong SPAL 453A 956-2228 annettew@hawaii.edu
Laiana Wong SPAL 458 956-6419 kwong@hawaii.edu
Kainoa Wong SPAL 256 956-5164 mkwong@hawaii.edu
Joseph Yamashita SPAL 253 956-6480 jhyamash@hawaii.edu

E Ola Ka ʻŌlelo

The mission of Kawaihuelani is to revitalize the Hawaiian language and culture through quality Hawaiian education. This is achieved through the creation and availability of faculty, resources, curricula, and materials that will promote the use of Hawaiian across the curriculum. Hawaiian is a viable and vibrant means of communication for a wide range of places and spaces, at UH Mānoa and in the community, including various forms of media and technology, such as the theater, radio, print, television, and internet.

Education and revitalization of Hawaiian language result in additional research and contributions to the Hawaiian knowledge base, thereby creating new ways of knowing and understanding the past, present, and future of the Native people of these islands. This knowledge will, in turn, create a new body of literature in the form of theses, dissertations, and other publications, which will emanate outward from the academy and make connections with and provide support for parallel efforts being made in the broader community. This mission is one that the University of Hawai‘i at Mānoa would be proud to advance as a part of its overall purpose as a university because our mission “promotes distinctive pathways to excellence, differentially emphasizing instruction, research, and service” (UH system strategic plan, p. 4).

Back To Top