Awards at different degree levels are available. Candidates must be nominated by their faculty adviser. Any full-time student working towards a bachelor’s, master’s or doctoral degree may be nominated. Nominations are screened by a review committee composed of three or more members of the Office of the Vice Provost for Research and Scholarship. Complete nomination guidelines are available in the URC Website. Below is a list of past award recipients:

Doctoral Level

2013 Brendan Bowler, Astronomy
2013 Andrew Mann, Astronomy
2012 Christopher Beaumont, Astronomy
2011 Michelle Gaither, Zoology
2010 Heather Marlow, Zoology
2009 Bernadette Cheryl Beredo, American Studies
2009 Benjam Granett, Astronomy
2008 Hai Fu, Astronomy
2007 David Harrington, Astronomy
2006 Yuko Kakazu, Astronomy
2005 Midori Ishida, Second Language Studies
2005 Nicole Lautze, Geology & Geophysics
2004 Zhaohui Wang, Chemistry
2003 Brian Bruya, Philosophy
2002 Kelly Benoit Bird, Zoology
2001 Spencer Nyholm, Zoology

Master’s Level

2012 Margaret Hanna, Theatre
2011 Alice Colman, Geology and Geophysics
2011 Cynthia Lai, Natural Resources & Environmental Management
2011 Ningjian Liang, Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Sciences
2010 H. Jabran Zahid, Astronomy
2009 In Cheh Chen, Ocean and resources Engineering
2008 Emily Levesque, Astronomy
2007 Trent Dupuy, Astronomy
2006 Steven Lim, Molecular Biosciences & Bioengineering
2004 Patrick Shamberger, Geology & Geophysics
2003 Lise Martel, Psychology
2002 George Theodore Garneau, French
2001 Liane Carlos, French

Bachelor’s Level

2012 Youngsu Kwon, Biology
2011 Johnelle Chock, Nursing
2010 Neal Akatsuka, Anthropology  2010 Megan Chock, Biology and Economics
2009 Alan Herbert, Philosophy
2008 Leighton Kenji Vila, Psychology
2007 Dan Sulak, Global Environmental Science
2006 Larry Ruckman, Physics & Astronomy
2005 Michelle Sosa, Microbiology
2004 Nel Venzon, Jr., Biology
2003 Cory Soon, Mechanical Engineering
2002 Grace Liu, Zoology
2001 Steve Eckert, Zoology

Back To Top