Commission on Inclusion and Diversity

The University of Hawai`i at Mānoa Commission on Inclusion and Diversity was established in 1992 as part of the University’s ongoing efforts to foster a community that embraces and values the various social and cultural differences among us. The various dimensions of diversity that the Commission is addressing include age, class, culture, disability, ethnicity, gender, national origin, race, religion, and sexual orientation. The Commission has focused its efforts on three areas of diversity: curriculum change, recruitment and retention of students, faculty and staff, and the campus climate. Certificates of commendation were presented to both the Commission on the Status of Women and Commission on Inclusion and Diversity by the Twentieth Legislature of the State of Hawai‘i.

The stated purpose of the Commission is:

  • To facilitate the creation of a university community that understands and celebrates social diversity and eliminates bigotry.
  • The Commission will encourage the university community to reflect, support and incorporate diversity among its students, faculty and staff, and within its curriculum, research, services, and campus life.

The Mānoa Commission on Inclusion and Diversity is pleased to announce the annual Dr. Amefil “Amy” Agbayani Staff & Faculty Diversity Enhancement Award. This annual award program recognizes staff and faculty that have demonstrated a significant commitment to enhancing diversity at the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa campus.

One recipient will be honored at the Spring 2024 UH Mānoa Awards Ceremony; and will receive an award for conference travel or educational materials of up to $1,500.”

To Nominate someone or for more information:
Contact: Dr. Kenny Lopez  at (808) 956-0471 or