Skip to main content Skip to main navigation

Strategic Planning Committee (SPC) Membership

Strategic Planning Committee members were appointed by the Chancellor based on recommendations by the Mānoa Faculty Senate, ASUH, GSO, UHAA, and Mānoa deans and directors. Members will serve two year terms. 2013–2014 members are:

  • David Ericson, Professor, College of Education, Co-Chair (MFS)
  • Robert Bly-Vroman, Interim Chancellor, Co-chair
  • Peter Arnade, Dean, Arts and Humanities
  • Bernadette Baraquio, 1st Vice President, Board of Directors (UHAA)
  • Kathy Cutshaw, Vice Chancellor for Administration, Finance, and Operations
  • Reed Dasenbrock, Vice Chancellor for Academic Affairs
  • Jonathan Dial, graduate student (GSO)
  • Keali'i Gora, Administrator (Kualiʻi Council)
  • Jerris Hedges, Dean, JABSOM
  • Susan Hippensteele, Professor, Women’s Studies, Coordinator
  • Francisco Hernandez, Vice Chancellor for Students
  • Ashley Kawashigi (ASUH)
  • Cecily Ornelles, Associate Professor, College of Education
  • Brian Taylor, Vice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education
  • Laiana Wong, Associate Professor, HSHK
  • Rebekah Carroll, Strategic Planning GA, Office of the Chancellor

Strategic Planning Committee (SPC) Meeting Dates/Times (2014)

  • Thurs., Jan. 16, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., Feb. 13, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., Mar. 13, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., Apr. 10, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., May 15, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., June 12, 9:00-10:30 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., Aug. 28, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Thurs., Sept. 11, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes, 2013-2014 Annual Report)
  • Thurs., Oct. 16, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Nov. 13, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Dec. 11, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Jan. 15, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Feb. 12, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Mar. 12, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., Apr. 16, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., May 14, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., June 11, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Thurs., July 9, 9:00-11:00 a.m., HH 309

Engaged Learning Working Group (ELWG) Members

  • Hokulai Aikau, Associate Professor, Political Science
  • Tammy Hailiʻopua Baker, Assistant Professor, Theater & Dance
  • Brian Bingham, Assistant Professor, Engineering
  • Pua Coen, Dept. Administrator, Native Hawaiian Health, JABSOM (Kualiʻi Council)
  • William Ditto, Dean, College of Natural Sciences
  • Robin Hadwick, Assistant Dean, Shidler (Convener)
  • Ken Hayashida, UHAA
  • Susan Hippensteele, Professor, Women’s Studies, Strategic Planning Coordinator
  • Brian Huffman, Law Librarian (MFS)
  • Lori Ideta, AVC and Dean of Students
  • Kathleen Kane, Specialist, OFDAS
  • Ryan Mandano (ASUH)
  • Michael-Brian Ogawa, Associate Professor, ICS
  • Todd Sammons, Associate Professor, English, Faculty Administrator, General Education Office (MFS)
  • Rebekah Carroll, Strategic Planning GA, Office of the Chancellor

ELWG Meeting Dates/Times:

  • Tues., Jan. 7, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Tues., Feb. 4, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Tues., Mar. 4, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Tues., Apr. 1, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Tues., May 6, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting noxtes)
  • Tues., June 3, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting noxtes)
  • Tues., Sept. 2, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309 (meeting noxtes)
  • Tues., Sept 30, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Nov. 4, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Dec. 2, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Jan. 6, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Feb. 3, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Mar. 3, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., Apr. 7, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309
  • Tues., May 5, 10:30-12:00 noon, HH 309

Instructional Innovation Working Group (IIWG) Members:

  • Roxanne Adams, Director, BGM
  • William Chismar, Dean, Outreach College
  • Roberta Enoki, Scheduler, A&R
  • Clifford Fujimoto, Manager, CIS
  • Kevin Griffin, Planning Office
  • Susan Hippensteele, Professor, Women’s Studies, Strategic Planning Coordinator
  • Kathleen Kane, Specialist and Director, OFDAS
  • Paul McKimmy, Specialist, Ed. Tech., COE
  • Jon Pennington, graduate student (GSO)
  • Steve Robinow, Assistant Dean, Natural Science
  • Saundra Schwartz, Professor, History
  • Nackil Sung, Librarian, Hamilton (MFS)
  • Rebekah Carroll, Strategic Planning GA, Office of the Chancellor

IIWG Meeting Dates/Times:

  • Fri., Jan. 10, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., Feb. 7, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., Mar. 7, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., Apr. 4, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., May 9, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., Sept. 5, 2:00-3:30 p.m. (meeting notes)
  • Fri., Oct. 3, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Nov. 7, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Dec. 5, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Jan. 9, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Feb. 6, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Mar. 6, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., Apr. 10, 2:00-3:30 p.m.
  • Fri., May 8, 2:00-3:30 p.m.

Business and Operational Practices Working Group (BOPWG) Members

  • Roxanne Adams, Director, Building and Grounds Management
  • Juanita Andaya, Dir of Admin Svcs, SOEST
  • Blake Araki, Mechanical Engineer, Facilities Management Office
  • Heidi Bornhorst, Landscape Manager, Building and Grounds Management
  • Justin Delp, IT Manager, Planning Office
  • Dyann Fong, HR Specialist, Facilities and Grounds
  • Susan Hippensteele, Professor, Women's Studies, Strategic Planning Coordinator
  • Irene Kikkawa, Auxiliary Services Officer, Facilities and Grounds
  • Jeff Matsumoto, OPF Safety Officer
  • Earl Matsushita, Director, WCC, Convener
  • Lynn Mayekawa, Facilities Manager, Art Department
  • Nicholas Metivier, Aux & Facil Svc Officer, Facilities Management Office
  • Byron Moon, Facilities Coordinator, Music
  • Dierdre Nakamura, Fiscal Administrator, Facilities and Grounds
  • Alan Nakanishi, Maintenance Repair Supervisor, Building and Grounds Management
  • Mark Nishimoto, Electrical Engineer, Facilities Management Office
  • Harry Partika, Systems Mgr, CSS
  • Pualeinani Santos, Bldg Manager (Kualiʻi Council)
  • Traci Shimizu, Bldg Svc Mgr, Building and Grounds Management
  • Bob Shinagawa, Electrician Supervisor II, Facilities Management Office
  • Steve Spielman, Research Support, CTAHR
  • Clifton Tanabe, Executive Assistant to the Chancellor
  • Teri Wong, Elec Engineer, FMO
  • Gale Yamada, Admin Svcs Mgr, Office of Facilities and Grounds
  • Rebekah Carroll, Strategic Planning GA, Office of the Chancellor

Business and Operational Practices Working Group (BOPWG) Meeting Dates/Times (2013-2014)

  • Wed., Jan. 8, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Feb. 5, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Mar. 5, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Apr. 2, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Tues., Apr. 15, 8:00–10:00 a.m., HH209 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., May 7, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., June 4, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., June 18, 7:30-9:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., July 30, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Aug. 27, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Sept. 10, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Sept. 3, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309 (meeting notes)
  • Wed., Oct. 8, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Nov. 5, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Dec. 3, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Jan. 7, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Feb. 4, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Mar. 4, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., Apr. 8, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., May 6, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309
  • Wed., June 3, 8:00-10:00 a.m., HH 309

To Follow the Planning Process

Each year of Achieving Our Destiny implementation will involve identifying themes and priorities to guide our efforts. Themes for the following year will be announced to the campus each Spring. Documents, reports, and task force and working group reports associated with strategic planning themes and priorities can be found by clicking on Implementation Resources at the upper right side of this page. The materials on the Implementation Resources and Implementation Archives page will be updated as necessary.