Honors Council

The Honors Council is the policy-making and examining body of the Honors Program. The charge of the Honors Council is to:

  1. assess student portfolios and academic records to determine the award of Sophomore Honors and Honors degrees;
  2. review and set policy concerning admission standards and program requirements;
  3. review proposals and make assignments of courses for the Honors Program curriculum;
  4. review applications for tuition waivers and scholarships awarded by the Honors Program;
  5. promote the interests of the Honors Program among faculty and staff, and especially to recruit faculty to teach Honors courses
  6. assist in the recruitment of students, especially to the Upper Division Honors Program;
  7. positively enhance the visibility of the Honors Program at the University and within the community.

Membership in the Council consists of the Director of the Honors Program (ex officio chair), the Assistant Vice Chancellor of Undergraduate Education (ex officio), the Honors Program Advisor (ex officio), the Chair of the Honors Student Organization, and up to ten full-time faculty from representative of colleges and schools at the University of Hawaii at Manoa, including at least one from each of the following: Social Sciences; Arts and Humanities; Languages, Linguistics and Literature; Natural Sciences; Engineering; Business Administration; Education; CTAHR; and SOEST.

Honors Council Roster

Ron CambraAssistant Vice Chancellor (ex-officio)Office of Undergraduate Education
James CaronAssociate ProfessorCollege of Languages, Linguistics, and Literature
Estelle CodierAssistant ProfessorSchool of Nursing and Dental Hygiene
Tep DobryDirector of Academic AffairsCollege of Engineering
Vernadette Vicuña GonzalezDirector (ex officio chair)Honors Program
Cynthia HunterDirectorMarine Options Program
Charles KinoshitaAssociate DeanCollege of Tropical Agricultural and Human Resources
Petra LenzResearcherPacific Biosciences Research Center
Laura LyonsAssociate ProfessorCollege of Languages, Linguistics, and Literature
Thomas PearsonProfessorShidler College of Business and School of Accountancy
Jane SchoonmakerAssociate GeophysicistSchool of Ocean and Earth Science and Technology
Ming-Bao YueAssociate ProfessorEast Asian Languages and Literatures
Sheela SharmaEducational Specialist (ex-officio)Undergraduate Research Opportunities Program
Siobhán Ní DhonachaAcademic Advisor (ex-officio)Honors Program and Regents and Presidential Scholars
Sue P. HaglundEducational Specialist (ex-officio)Honors Program
PresidentHonors Students RepresentativeHonors Student Organization