Exploratory Arts & Humanities

Select this interest area if you want to learn about the creation and interpretation of works and performances that use sound, movement, and images to express ideas and emotions in various aesthetic forms OR gain a broad depth and breadth of knowledge as it applies to the study of human interactions and relationships. Coursework in this area fosters critical thinking skills as well as an ability to view the world from a multitude of different theoretical and historical approaches. Additionally, students who graduate with a Humanities major have a capacity and desire for life‐long learning, making the transition from college to career seamless and effortless. Those with a major in this interest area tend to take on management and leadership positions. Careers in Arts may involve designing, producing exhibiting, performing, writing, and publishing.

Major Program Sheet Plan Template Advisor Information
American Studies PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jonna Eagle
Email: jonnae@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8247
Office Location: Moore 324
Asian Studies PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Patricia Dunn
Email: pdunn@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7814
Office Location: Moore 407
Art PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Kate Lingley
Email: lingley@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8717
Office Location: Art Building 142
Art History PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Kate Lingley
Email: lingley@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8717
Office Location: Art Building 142
Art Studio PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Kate Lingley
Email: lingley@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8717
Office Location: Art Building 142
Chinese PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Todd Ashida
Email: tashida@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2066
Office Location: Moore 378
Chinese Language Flagship PDF
download
PDF
download
Director: Madeline K. Spring
Email: mkspring@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8798
Office Location: Moore 375
Classics PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Daniel Harris-McCoy
Email: harrismc@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4183
Office Location: Moore 459
Communicology PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: William Sharkey
Email: comg@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8407
Office Location: George 332
Creative Media: Computer Animation PDF
download
PDF
download
Chair: Daniel Boulos
Email: bouls@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-0752/7736
Office Location: Crawford 210
Creative Media: Digital Cinema PDF
download
PDF
download
Chair: Daniel Boulos
Email: bouls@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-0752/7736
Office Location: Crawford 210
Dance BA
BFA
BA
BFA
Advisor: Peggy Gaither Adams
Email: adamsp@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-3264
Office Location: Dance 101
English PDF
download
PDF
download
Chair: James Caron
Email: caron@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-3048
Office Location: Kuykendall 429
French PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jacob Huss
Email: jacob@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4175
Office Location: Moore 490
German PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Maryann Overstreet, PhD
Email: overst@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4172
Office Location: Moore 454
Hawaiian Language PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Kamuela Ka‘Ahanui
Email: kukakuka@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7637
Office Location: Spalding 253A
Hawaiian Studies PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Lehua Nishimura
Email: lehua.nishimura@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-0642
Office Location: KAMA 211
History PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Liam Kelley
Email: liam@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-8421
Office Location: Sakamaki B-408
Japanese PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Todd Ashida
Email: tashida@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2066
Office Location: Moore 378
Korean PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Todd Ashida
Email: tashida@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2066
Office Location: Moore 378
Korean: Korean For Professionals PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Sang Yee Cheon
Email: scheon@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2054
Office Location: Moore 352
Music: Composition PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: General Music PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: Hawaiian Music PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: Instrumental PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: Musical Theater PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: Piano PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Music: Voice PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Jane Moulin
Email: moulin@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-7707
Office Location: Music 217
Pacific Island Studies PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Julie Walsh
Email: jwalsh@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2668
Office Location: Moore 211
Philippine Language and Literature: Filipino PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Pia Arboleda
Email: pca62@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-5901
Office Location: Spalding 456
Philippine Language and Literature: Ilokano PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Dean Domingo
Email: deand@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2226
Office Location: Spalding 459
Philosophy PDF
download
PDF
download
Chair: Vrinda Dalmiya
Email: vrinda@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-5981
Office Location: Sakamaki B-303
Religion PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Marie Alohalani Brown
Email:mariebro@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-2440
Office Location: Sakamaki A-311
Russian PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Anastasia Kostetskaya
Email: kostetsk@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4181
Office Location: Moore 457
Second Language Studies PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Kenton Harsch / Priscilla Faucette
Email: kenton@hawaii.edu / faucette@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-6946 / (808) 956-2801
Office Location: Moore 587 / Moore 472
Spanish PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Eric Thau
Email: thau@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4440
Office Location: Moore 430
Theatre PDF
download
PDF
download
Advisor: Julie Iezzi
Email:iezzi@hawaii.edu
Phone: (808) 956-4377
Office Location: Henke Hall 309

 

All information is taken from the 2017-2018 program sheets.