Outdoor Classes


surfing hi k2

 

Beginning Surfing

Learn the water sport of Hawai'i!! This class is for beginners and transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

 

One Day Classes
$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Diamond Head.

 

May 21 Thurs (3:00-6:00pm)
May 27 Wed (3:00-6:00pm)
June 1 Mon (3:00-6:00pm)
June 17 Wed (3:00-6:00pm)
July 7 Tues (3:00-6:00pm)
July 10 Fri (3:00-6:00pm)
July 20 Mon (3:00-6:00pm)
July 22 Wed (3:00-6:00pm)
July 31 Fri (3:00-6:00pm)

 

Two Day Classes
$42 UHM Student & WRC Members
$52 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Diamond Head.

 

June 5 & June 12 Fri (3:00-6:00pm)
July 28 & July 30 Tues & Thurs (3:00-6:00pm)

 


Stand-Up Paddling

Learn the basics of Stand-Up Paddling, one of the newest, fastest growing water sports. Participants must be able to swim. Transportation and equipment provided.

$27 UHM Student & WRC Members
$32 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are held at Kahala, depending on conditions.

 

June 2 Tues (3:00-6:00pm)
June 24 Wed (3:00-6:00pm)
June 30 Tues (3:00-6:00pm)
July 15 Wed (3:00-6:00pm)
Aug 6 Thurs (3:00-6:00pm)

 


Body Boarding

Body Boarding is enjoyed at most beaches in the State of Hawai'i. Come learn the basics of body boarding and water safety at a beach with shore break. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim. Body boarding is limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. All excursions take place at Waimanalo

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)
Classes are helf at Waimanalo.

 

May 22 Fri (2:00-5:00pm)
June 3 Wed (2:00-5:00pm)
June 20 Sat (2:00-5:00pm)
July 5 Sun (9:00-12:00pm)
July 17 Fri (2:00-5:00pm)

 


Hiking

Explore the island of Oahu. Join organized hikes to scenic locations.

Transportation provided.

$7 UHM Student & WRC Members
$12 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

May 15 Fri (2:00-5:00pm) - Manoa Falls
May 23 Sat (8:30-1:30pm) - Maunawili Falls
May 31 Sun (9:00-12:00pm) – Makapu’u Tide Pools
June 13 Sat (1:30-5:30pm) - Aiea Loop Trail
June 28 Sun (9:00-12:00pm) - Manoa Falls
July 11 Sat (9:00am-2:00pm) - Olomana
July 19 Sun (8:30-1:00pm) - Maunawili Falls
August 1 Sat (9:00-3:00pm) - Kaena Point

 


Kayaking Excursions

Excursions are lead to different parts of Oahu and are intended for the beginner kayaker. Learn kayak and water safety skills while experiencing different scenic areas around the island. Participating in a kayak excursion or class will allow you to take the kayak safety test and receive UH kayaker certification card enabling you to rent our kayaks. Excursions are limited to UH students, faculty, staff and their guests. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$27 UHM Student & WRC Members
$32 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

May 29 Fri (2:00-6:30pm) - Flat Island
June 7 Sun (9:00-1:00pm) - Chinaman’s Hat
June 10 Wed (2:00-5:00pm) - Kahala
June 27 Sat (8:00-1:30pm) - Mokuluas
July 3 Fri (8:30-1:30pm) - Malaekahana
July 9 Thurs (3:00-6:00pm) - Kahala
July 12 Sun (8:00-12:00pm) - Flat Island
July 18 Sat (8:30-1:30pm) - Kahana Bay
July 29 Wed (3:00-6:00pm) - Kahala
Aug 2 Sun (11:00-4:00pm) - Chinaman’s Hat
Aug 8 Sat (9:00-1:00pm) - Malaekahana

 


Introduction to Sailing

This one day class introduces participants to the basics of sailing while enjoying and taking part in a cruise around Keehi Lagoon aboard a 20' keel boat. Equipment and transportation provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

No classes scheduled at this time.

 


Beginner Sailing

This is a great opportunity to learn a great lifetime sport. Classes are taught in 20' keelboats and include both classroom and on-the-water sessions. Instruction will include basic sailing theory and concentrate on boat handling techniques at Keehi Lagoon. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM student, faculty and staff
$132 PVS
$152 community/guest
Classes are held at Ke'ehi Lagoon.

 

June 6 – June 27 Saturdays (8:30-12:30pm)
June 9 – June 18 Tuesdays & Thursdays (2:00-6:00pm)
June 28 – July 19 Sundays (1:30-5:30 pm)
July 14 – July 23 Tuesdays & Thursdays (2:00-6:00pm)

 


Intermediate Sailing

Continue where you left off with the beginner class and learn more advanced sailing theory and boat handling techniques. This class gives you time to practice and gives you a taste of racing. Classes are taught in 20' keel boats and include both classroom and on the water sessions. Transportation and equipment are provided. Participants must be able to swim.

$97 UHM Student & WRC Members
$132 PVS
$152 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

No classes scheduled at this time

 


Sailing Adventure

Sail off the beautiful Waikiki shoreline. Makani Catamaran's eco-friendly spirit of the ocean provides breathtaking views suitable for students, families and guests!

 

No classes scheduled at this time.

 


SCUBA

Discover the underwater beauty of the Pacific. Receive a NASE Open Water Certification upon completion of the course. Classes are online with 3 pool sessions on Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday and 2 boat sessions during the weekend. Weekday classes are held from 6:00pm-9:00pm. Weekend classes are held from 7:00am-12:00pm. Participants MUST be able to swim and provide their own mask, fins, snorkel and transportation to the weekend dive sites.

$210 UHM Student & WRC Members
$225 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

June 15, 16,18, 20, 21

 


Snorkeling

Explore the wonderful marine life that Hawai'i has to offer at Shark's Cove (North Shore, Oahu). Equipment and transportation provided for the first ten people. Participants MUST be able to swim!

$22 UHM Student & WRC Members
$27 Faculty, Staff, & Guest (must be a guest of UH participant)

 

June 14 Sun (9:00-1:00pm)

June 21 Sun (9:00-1:00pm)

July 2 Thurs (2:00-6:00pm)

July 13 Mon (2:00-6:00pm)

July 25 Sat (9:00-1:00pm)