About Us

Who We Are

  • Timpuyog (“togetherness”) is the organization of students enrolled in various courses offered by the Ilokano Language and Literature Program   (ILLP) at UH Mānoa. These courses cover up to 400-level of Ilokano language, on Philippine critical discourses, on popular culture, on Philippine cinema, and on the translation and interpretation studies in Ilokano.
  • Timpuyog aims to bring together these students in various courses in an effort to equip them with linguistic and cultural competencies, and to make them aware of the importance of the Ilokano language in the State of Hawaiʻi and the history of Philippine diaspora in particular, with Ilokano itself as historically the language of Filipino diaspora in the United States of America.
  • Timpuyog works in tandem with ILLP, holds fundraisers for the Ilokano B.A. Scholarship and for its members as they train for more responsible roles in the community. The students involved in this organization are trained to assume leadership positions and skills that are vital in their professional and citizenship roles.

Our Mission and Motto

  • We, the students of the Timpuyog Organization, believe in establishing a spirit of pride, emphasizing the advancement of the Ilokano language and culture, and providing opportunities for the meaningful exchanges of ideas.
  • "Striving to preserve the Ilokano language, culture, and traditions in today's youth...the leaders of tomorrow."

Our Objectives and Purpose

  • To serve the needs of students of the Ilokano language and literature program and others interested in the Ilokano the Ilokano language and Philippine culture.
  • To promote the Ilokano language and Philippine culture in the community.
  • To instill pride in our Ilokano heritage.
  • To develop leadership skills among the students.
  • To help students develop proficiency in Ilokano and awareness of Filipino traditions and values through meaningful language and culutral activities.
  • To serve the community through cultural presentations.
  • To encourage Ilokano students to speak Ilokano.
  • To serve as role models for our Filipino youth.


  • Membership into the RIO is open and free to current students, faculty, and staff at UH Manoa.
  • Any person enrolled in any section of the Ilokano classes under the Ilokano Language and Literature Program (includes IP courses taught by ILO faculty) is an automatic member of the Timpuyog Organization.
  • Any person subscribing to the purposes of this organization may become an active member by adopting the constitution and by being introduced at a general meeting.

Follow Us on Social Media

Need to contact us? Email us at timpuyog@hawaii.edu

Our Events

Language and Cultural Piknik

Students enrolled in ILO and IP courses come together to play some language and cultural games as well as enjoy deliccious food.

Drama, Film, Song, and Speech Festival

Students showcase their talents in Ilokano through live performances or films they create.

Student Recognition Banquet

A special night where we honor our students for their accomplishments for the academic year.

Executive Board

The following individuals will serve as the Executive Board for the Timpuyog Organization for Fall 2023 - Spring 2024.

Myka Grace Molina


Rae Angelic Dalinoc

Vice President of Administration

Saralyn Solina

Vice President of Public Relations

Ayra Mae Narciso

Corresponding Secretary

Kimberlyn Joy Agacir

Recording Secretary

Kalea Lou Borja

Administrative Secretary

Jerryd Bumanglag


Jefferson Castillio


Marlon Basilio


Clyde Junald Cristobal


Princess Joy Dulluog


Katrina De Peralta

Creative Designer

Dhona Rico

Creative Designer

Troy Mercado

Sergeant at Arms

Christian Hermoso

Sergeant at Arms

Benzelle Bersamira

Sergeant at Arms

Harvey Lafradez

Web Administrator

Juvy Ann Lucero

Web Administrator

Alexis Karl Buted

Web Administrator

Justine Afaga

Web Designer

Manong Dean


Class Representative

The following individuals will serve as the Class Representative for the Timpuyog Organization for Fall 2023 - Spring 2024.

Khloe-Reigh Ringor

ILO 102

Jhanella Shayne Gerardo

ILO 301

Giovanna Mae Taong

ILO 301