Faculty

Tokiko Bazzell

Japan Specialist Librarian
UH Library Asia Collection
Phone: 956-2315
tokiko@hawaii.edu

Lonny Carlile

Associate Professor
Asian Studies
Phone: 956-2661
lonny@hawaii.edu

John Casken

Associate Specialist
School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene
Phone: 956-5750
casken@hawaii.edu

Joyce N. Chinen

Director, Center for Okinawan Studies
Professor

Dept of Sociology at West Oahu
Phone: 689-2378
chinen@hawaii.edu

Stewart A. Curry

Instructor of Japanese Language
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone: 956-2080
scurry@hawaii.edu

John Cusick

Assistant Specialist
Environmental Center
Phone: 956-7362
jcusik@hawaii.edu

Charlene Gima

Instructor
Language Arts at Honolulu Community College
Phone: 847-9840
gimac@hawaii.edu

Robert N. Huey

Professor
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone:
huey@hawaii.edu

Masato Ishida

Assistant Professor
Philosophy
Phone: 956-8250
masatoi@hawaii.edu

Satoru Izutsu

Vice Dean, Director of Admission
Office of Dean of Medicine
Phone: 692-0890
sizutsu@hawaii.edu

David T. Johnson

Professor
Sociology
Phone: 956-8462
davidjoh@hawaii.edu

Kenneth Kaneshiro

Director, CCRT/Dir, HEBP/Rschr
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Phone: 956-6739
kykanesh@hawaii.edu

Norman Kaneshiro

Lecturer
Music
Phone: 956-8833
nkaneshi@hawaii.edu

Mire Koikari

Associate Professor
Women’s Studies
Phone: 956-8579
mire@hawaii.edu

Diane Masuo

Associate Professor
Family & Consumer Science
Phone: 956-2231
masuo@hawaii.edu

Ronald F. Matayoshi

Director of Practicum
School of Social Work
Phone: 956-6139
ssw1@hawaii.edu or ron.matayoshi@hawaii.edu

Mari Matsuda

Professor
William S. Richardson School of Law
Phone: 956-9391
mmatsuda@hawaii.edu

Mary McDonald

Associate Professor
Director, Center for Japanese Studies

Geography
Phone: 956-2662
mcdonald@hawaii.edu

Mark McNally

Associate Professor
History
Phone: 956-6759
mmcnally@hawaii.edu

Nobuko M. Ochner

Associate Professor
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone: 956-2055
ochner@hawaii.edu

Dennis M. Ogawa

Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-8685
dogawa@hawaii.edu

Jonathan Y. Okamura

Associate Professor
Ethnic Studies
Phone: 956-4632
okamuraj@hawaii.edu

Katsuhiro Ota

Lecturer
Japanese at Honolulu Community College
Phone: 845-9250
ota@hawaii.edu

Robert Perkinson

Associate Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-6599
perk@hawaii.edu

Cheryl Nakasone Penhart

Lecturer
Theatre & Dance
Phone: 956-7677
penhart@hawaii.edu

Gay Satsuma

Associate Director of Center for Japanese Studies
Center for Japanese Studies
Phone: 956-2664
gay@hawaii.edu

Patricia G. Steinhoff

Professor
Sociology
Phone: 956-7676
steinhof@hawaii.edu

Frank Stewart

Professor
English
Phone: 956-3059
fstewart@hawaii.edu

Ty P. Kawika Tengan

Associate Professor
Ethnic Studies and Anthropology
Phone: 956-5144 or 956-7831
ttengan@hawaii.edu

Russell K. Uyeno

Dean
Communications and Services at Honolulu Community College
Phone: 845-9135
ruyeno@hawaii.edu

Alexander Vovin

Professor
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone: 956-2074
vovin@hawaii.edu

Brian Yamamoto

Professor
Biological Science at Kauai Community College
Phone: 808-245-8241
btyamamo@hawaii.edu

Christine R. Yano

Professor
Anthropology
Phone: 956-4447
cryano@hawaii.edu

Mari Yoshihara

Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-8542
myoshiha@hawaii.edu