Faculty

Tokiko Bazzell

Japan Studies Librarian
UH Library Asia Collection
Phone: 956-2315
tokiko@hawaii.edu

Lonny Carlile

Associate Professor
Director, Center for Japanese Studies

Asian Studies
Phone: 956-2661
lonny@hawaii.edu

John Casken

Associate Specialist
School of Nursing and Dental Hygiene
Phone: 956-5750
casken@hawaii.edu

Joyce N. Chinen

Retired Director, Center for Okinawan Studies
Retired Professor

Dept of Sociology at West Oahu
Phone: 689-2378
chinen@hawaii.edu

Stewart A. Curry

Instructor of Japanese Language
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone: 956-2080
scurry@hawaii.edu

John Cusick

Associate Specialist
Environmental Center
Phone: 956-7362
jcusick@hawaii.edu

Charlene Gima

Assistant Professor
Language Arts at Honolulu Community College
Phone: 847-9840
gimac@hawaii.edu

Kyoko Hijirida

Professor Emeritus
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone:
hijirida@hawaii.edu

Robert N. Huey

Professor
East Asian Languages & Literature
Phone:
huey@hawaii.edu

Masato Ishida

Associate Professor
Philosophy
Phone: 956-8250
masatoi@hawaii.edu

Sachiko Iwabuchi

Librarian
UH Library Asia Collection
Phone:
sachiko.iwabuchi@hawaii.edu

Satoru Izutsu

Vice Dean, Director of Admission
Office of Dean of Medicine
Phone: 692-0890
sizutsu@hawaii.edu

David T. Johnson

Professor
Sociology
Phone: 956-8462
davidjoh@hawaii.edu

Kenneth Kaneshiro

Director, CCRT/Dir, HEBP/Rschr
Pacific Biosciences Research Center
Phone: 956-6739
kykanesh@hawaii.edu

Norman Kaneshiro

Lecturer
Music
Phone: 956-8833
nkaneshi@hawaii.edu

Mire Koikari

Professor
Women’s Studies
Phone: 956-8579
mire@hawaii.edu

Diane Masuo

Associate Professor
Family & Consumer Science
Phone: 956-2231
masuo@hawaii.edu

Mari Matsuda

Professor
William S. Richardson School of Law
Phone: 956-9391
mmatsuda@hawaii.edu

Mark McNally

Professor
History
Phone: 956-6759
mmcnally@hawaii.edu

Dennis M. Ogawa

Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-8685
dogawa@hawaii.edu

Jonathan Y. Okamura

Professor
Ethnic Studies
Phone: 956-4632
okamuraj@hawaii.edu

Robert Perkinson

Associate Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-6599
perk@hawaii.edu

Cheryl Nakasone Penhart (On Leave)

Lecturer
Theatre & Dance
Phone:
Email

Gay Satsuma

Interim Director of Center for Okinawan Studies
Associate Director of Center for Japanese Studies

Center for Japanese Studies
Phone: 956-2664
gay@hawaii.edu

Patricia G. Steinhoff

Professor
Sociology
Phone: 956-7676
steinhof@hawaii.edu

Ty P. Kawika Tengan

Associate Professor
Ethnic Studies and Anthropology
Phone: 956-5144 or 956-7831
ttengan@hawaii.edu

Russell K. Uyeno

Associate Director for Instructional Systems Design and Delivery
National Disaster Preparedness Training Center
Department of Urban and Regional Planning
Phone: 956-3176
ruyeno@hawaii.edu

Brian Yamamoto

Professor
Natural Sciences at Kauai Community College
Phone: 808-245-8241
btyamamo@hawaii.edu

Christine R. Yano

Professor
Anthropology
Phone: 956-4447
cryano@hawaii.edu

Mari Yoshihara

Professor
American Studies
Phone: 956-8542
myoshiha@hawaii.edu

Mark A. Levin

Professor
William Richardson School of Law
Phone: 956-3302
levin@hawaii.edu

Wayne Shiroma

Professor and Chair
Electrical Engineering
Phone: 956-7218
wayne.shiroma@hawaii.edu

Yukie Shiroma

Lecturer
Department of Theater and Dance
shiromay@hawaii.edu

Lois A. Yamauchi

Professor
Educational Psychology
Phone: 956-4385
yamauchi@hawaii.edu