UH Faculty Awarded for Dedication and Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching

University of Hawaiʻi
Posted: Sep 7, 2004

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi has selected seven faculty members from campuses across the university system as the recipients of the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching. In memory of the late Frances Davis who taught mathematics at Leeward CC and UH Mānoa for 19 years, the award recognizes UH faculty members for dedication and demonstrated excellence as teachers of undergraduate students.This year‘s recipients include:

Susan Dik is an instructor of business at Kapiʻolani CC. She provides her students with hands-on experiences and encourages them to learn in the real world. Epitomizing the college‘s commitment to student-centered learning, Dik is an outstanding example of hard work and dedication. She prepares her students with the best workplace skills possible. Dik believes that it is a teacher‘s responsibility to encourage students to strive for the highest.Michael Hallstone is an assistant professor of justice administration at UH West Oʻahu. Hallstone is a dynamic teacher who is in tune with his students. He believes in challenging them and raising the bar, and strives to make them active participants in the learning process. He cares about his students and is always willing to provide encouragement. Active in department and campus activities, Hallstone serves as vice-chair of the UHWO faculty senate.Susan Hirate is an instructor of Japanese at UH Mānoa. She follows a simple teaching mantra: keep it fun, keep it challenging and keep it positive. Thanks to Hirate‘s commitment, in the past 20 years, the Japanese language program‘s objectives have matured, placing greater emphasis on performance, authenticity and communicative competence. She has also been awarded with the College of Language, Linguistics and Literature Instructor Award for Innovative Teaching.Seri Luangphinith is an assistant professor of English at UH Hilo. She demands that each student make an honest effort to meet her standards of excellence. Luangphinith sets high standards in the expected level of reading and writing in her classes and has developed a strong student following. She helped students create an English club, which has assisted with a variety of service projects, such as the annual UH Hilo Food Drive and renovation of the dormitories‘ volleyball area.Gertrude Ueoka is an assistant professor of nursing at Maui CC. She is an exceptionally effective teacher, with a calm and constructive approach. Ueoka prepares her students for a complex and sometimes risk-laden nursing career where patient health is at stake. With 33 years of service, she has taught the majority of nurses in Maui County. Year after year, student evaluations reflect their deep appreciation for her individual attention, patience and systematic presentation of information.Ingelia White is an associate professor of botany and microbiology at Windward CC. White is an advocate for student learning and a leader in curriculum development. She exposes her students to her passion and love for plants and plant biotechnology. In addition to teaching, White is the director of the Kuhi Laʻau Tropical Plant and Orchid Identification Facility, coordinator of the Tissue Culture and Plant Biotechnology Laboratory and coordinator of the Plant Biotechnology Program. White was awarded the Regents Medal for Excellence in Teaching in 2002.Mie Hiramoto Sanders is a doctoral candidate in linguistics at UH Mānoa and this year‘s recipient of the Graduate Teaching Assistant Award. Sanders has an innovative and caring approach to undergraduate instruction. Her teaching philosophy was adapted from teachers who influenced her. She keeps three things in mind: to be as clear, fair and as encouraging as possible.Recipients of the Frances Davis Award for Excellence in Undergraduate Teaching will be recognized for their contributions to the university along with other UH award winners at a system-wide ceremony on Sept. 14, 2004.

For more information, visit: http://www.hawaii.edu/about/awards/davis.php