UH Manoa Faculty Member Receives Prestigious Food Science and Technology Award

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Miles Hakoda, (808) 956-3093
Arlene Abiang, (808) 956-5637
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Aug 17, 2004

HONOLULU — Wayne T. Iwaoka, faculty member of UH Mānoa‘s College of Tropical Agriculture and Human Resources and graduate chair of the Food Science Department, recently received the 2004 William V. Cruess Award from the Institute of Food Technologies (IFT). The award honors a member who has achieved excellence in teaching food science and technology. Iwaoka will receive a $3,000 honorarium and a bronze medal from the Northern California Section of IFT.

Iwaoka is described by his colleagues, peers and students as a person committed to the education of students. He is a professor with skills, passion and a unique approach to learning who promotes development of the whole person. Iwaoka has been an inspiration to many students and wants them to succeed not only in his classes, but in life as well.

Iwaoka is also an active member of IFT. He serves on the Task Force on Evaluating Outcome-Based Measures of Learning where he successfully worked to have professionalism and interpersonal skills included in the IFT Undergraduate Education Standards for Degrees in Food Science. He was co-founder of the Education Division where he served as chair and is the scientific editor of IFT‘s Journal of Food Science Education, contributing numerous hours coordinating the solicitation and review of food science education manuscripts for publication.

"This is a very significant honor from the key national scientific body in the field of food science," said Dr. Rachel Novotny, Chair of the Department of Human Nutrition, Food and Animal Science. "Dr. Iwaoka has been steadfast in his dedication to teaching, and we are proud of his accomplishment and grateful for his dedication."

Founded in 1939, the Institute of Food Technologists is a nonprofit scientific society with 28,000 members working in food science, food technology, and related professions in industry, academia and government. The annual IFT Awards Program is designed to honor outstanding individuals, teams, and organizations for contribution to the profession of food science and technology.