Kapiolani Community College Students Receive Scholarships from Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation

Kapiʻolani Community College
Arlene Abiang, (808) 956-5637
External Affairs & University Relations
Jennifer Grizzle, (770 ) 409-1152
Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation
Posted: Aug 13, 2004

HONOLULU — Michael Hewitt and Marlene Jones-Skurtu, students at Kapiʻolani Community College, have each been awarded a $1,000 scholarship from the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation.
The scholarship program awards a total of 400 scholarships annually to students attending higher-education institutions granting two-year degrees. All recipients demonstrated academic success and performed 100 hours of community service within the past 12 months.

Hewitt is an active student in a number of school activities at Kapiʻolani CC. Additionally, he volunteers his time as a tutor for a number of programs and organizations, including "Networking into the Millennium," which offers free computer training courses for the elderly and disadvantaged at Kapiʻolani CC. Hewitt will graduate with an associate degree in Information Technology Systems and in Paralegal in May 2005. This is the second consecutive year in which he has received the scholarship.

Jones-Skurtu, a liberal arts student, is also active with school activities at Kapiʻolani CC. She is a member of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society and writes for the school newspaper, Kapiʻo. Jones-Skurtu is finishing her core courses at Kapiʻolani CC and will receive her associate degree in liberal arts next year. She will also attend UH Mānoa this fall to continue her higher education in music.

The Two-Year Colleges Scholarship Program complements the Foundation‘s Coca-Cola Scholars Program, which awards more than $1.8 million annually in college scholarships to 250 outstanding high school seniors. The Coca-Cola Scholars Program is one of the most recognized and respected corporate-sponsored scholarships in America.