UH Hilo announces chancellor's scholars for 2011

University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo
Alyson Kakugawa-Leong, (808) 974-7642
Director, Media Relations, University Relations
Posted: Jun 17, 2011

The University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo announces that 17 Hawaiʻi high school graduates have been selected to receive the Chancellor’s Scholarship. This year’s recipients come from high schools located on Hawaiʻi, Maui and Oʻahu. The prestigious award, estimated to be worth more than $22,000, is presented annually to outstanding graduates from Hawaiʻi high schools.

“These graduates have distinguished themselves in two ways: by placing in the top 10 percent of their graduating class, and by demonstrating leadership abilities,” said Chancellor Donald Straney. “We’re very pleased that these outstanding students will be attending UH Hilo.”

In addition to receiving the scholarship, the students will also be called upon to work with other chancellor scholars in numerous leadership and community service activities. The 2011 Chancellor Scholarship recipients and their respective high schools are as follows:

Richard Abbley, Lanikila Baptist High School, Oʻahu
Goody Cacal, Waipahu High School, Oʻahu 
Matt Chen, McKinley High School, Oʻahu 
Erik Ferreira, St. Anthony High School, Maui
Carrie Ip, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi
I‘inimaikalani Kahakalau, Kanu o ka ‘Aina, Hawaiʻi
Christopher Kluzak, St. Joseph High School, Hawaiʻi
Anjulie Larson, Ka‘u High School, Hawaiʻi
Nicole Preston, Mililani High School, Oʻahu 
Ethan Souza, Honoka‘a High School, Hawaiʻi
Tristan Yoshida, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi
Kadi Igawa, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi
Blaine Luiz, Konawaena High School, Hawaiʻi
Micha Rhobelyn Ramos, Kea‘au High School, Hawaiʻi
Shelby Tanaka, Hawaiʻi Baptist Academy, Oʻahu 
Chelsea Sato, Waiakea High School, Hawaiʻi
Taylor Escalona, Hilo High School, Hawaiʻi