UH Law School Dean Search Underway

University of Hawaiʻi
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
External Affairs & University Relations
Kristen Cabral, (808) 956-5039
Public Information Officer
Posted: Jul 25, 2002

Members of the search committee for the dean‘s position at the William S. Richardson School of Law have been appointed. Dean Lawrence Foster announced earlier this year that he would be returning to the faculty to resume his teaching position following 15 years in administrative positions at the law school.

Search committee chair is Beadie Kanahele Dawson, chief executive officer, Dawson Group, Inc., and chair of the Friends of the Law School board.

"Our Committee is most grateful to Dean Foster for successfully elevating the Law School to new heights during his Deanship," Dawson said. "We are now recognized as one of the best law schools in the country, with our environmental law program considered to be in the top 20 and with our moot court teams consistently winning national championships.

"I expect our committee to find and secure the best possible qualified candidates who will take the William S. Richardson School of Law to an even higher level," she added. "We welcome communication from all who are interested and wish to comment."

Besides Chair Dawson, committee members are:

Denise Antolini, assistant professor, School of Law, and faculty senate representative

Della Au Belatti, president of the Student Bar Association

John L. Barkai, professor, School of Law

Frank Boas, Friends of the Law School

Danielle M. Conway-Jones, assistant professor, School of Law

Michael Gibson, president, Hawaii Bar Association

Chris K. Iijima, associate professor and director, Pre-admission Program, School of Law

Barry Kurren, U.S. Magistrate Judge

Joy Kobashigawa Lewis, Secretary, Outreach College and Clerical Council representative

Tara McKenzie, president/CEO, Alu Like

Carolyn Oshiro, president, Law School Alumni Association and attorney, Char Sakamoto Ishii Lum & Ching

Jeffrey Portnoy, attorney, Cades Schutte Fleming & Wright

Lorna Ramiscal, educational specialist and APT representative

Randall Roth, professor, School of Law

Laurie A. Tochiki, assistant dean for student affairs, School of Law

Eric Yamamoto, professor, School of Law.

The dean‘s position is being advertised, with a first screening deadline of Friday, September 13, 2002. Those wishing to send communications to the search committee may address them to Law School Dean Search Committee, attn: Joanne Clark, 2442 Campus Road, Admin Services Bldg 1, Room 101, Honolulu, Hawaiʻi, 96822, or e-mail jclark@hawaii.edu.