UH undergraduates receive C-MORE Scholars award

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Barbara A Gibson, (808) 956-0403
Asst Spec, School of Ocean and Earth Sciences and Technology
Posted: Aug 25, 2009

The Center for Microbial Oceanography: Research and Education (C-MORE) has granted awards to ten undergraduate students in the UH system to participate in their prestigious and competitive undergraduate scholars program. 

The C-MORE Scholars Program provides UH undergraduate students majoring in an ocean or earth science-related field, especially underrepresented students such as Native Hawaiians and Pacific Islanders, the opportunity to participate in hands-on research experiences.  Awardees receive guidance and help from a mentor who is a scientist at the university or in industry. Three levels of awards ranging from $2,000 - $4,000 per semester are offered, depending on the skill and knowledge level of the applicant.

The students who were awarded a traineeship, internship, or fellowship for the Fall 2009 semester are:

Sarah Chang, microbiology
Chanteal Craft, marine biology and English
Chelsea Dudoit, biology
Michael Gray, global environmental science
La`Toya James, biology
Kehaunani Manoi, marine biology
Leena Muller, natural resource and environmental management
Sara Thomas, global environmental science
Brenner Wai, global environmental science
Alexander Williams, ocean engineering

C-MORE was established in August 2006 as a National Science Foundation (NSF) sponsored Science and Technology Center. The center is designed to facilitate a more comprehensive understanding of the biological and ecological diversity of marine micro-organisms.

For more information, visit: http://cmore.soest.hawaii.edu/scholars