University of Hawai‘i System announces the 2009-2010 participants for the President's Emerging Leaders Program

University of Hawaiʻi
Carolyn Tanaka, (808) 956-9803
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Jul 29, 2009

The third cohort of the President‘s Emerging Leaders Program will begin their year-long program on August 4, 2009. Twenty-seven faculty and staff from campuses and system offices were selected from a pool of 75 applicants this year. The program was first initiated in 2007 by UH System President David McClain.

The program identifies and develops highly motivated faculty and staff of the university by establishing a base of knowledge about higher education and building leadership skills. Participants read and analyze issues, examine data, hear from senior leaders, and engage in discussions about meeting the postsecondary education needs of our students and state, and achieving excellence in the UH System.

Linda Johnsrud, vice president for academic planning and policy, who directs the program said, "The program affirms the university‘s commitment to one of the goals in our Strategic Plan to invest in our most valuable asset, our human resources, while building on an institutional culture of diversity and inclusion. We appreciate the readiness of these emerging leaders to serve, especially during the challenging times we face as the only public higher education system for the citizens of Hawaiʻi."

"PELP provides an extraordinary window into the inner workings of the university system and a collegial forum for learning about higher education policy and politics in Hawaiʻi. This investment by UH in growing its own leadership talent is both visionary and strategic. A great program for anyone interested in the big picture, learning across our academic and physical islands, and helping to shape the future of UH," said Denise Antolini, of the 2008-2009 Cohort, professor and director of the Environmental Law Program, William S. Richardson School of Law at UH Mānoa.

Jonathan Wong, a 2008-2009 Cohort who is currently technology coordinator at the Native Hawaiian Center at Honolulu Community College stated: "The President‘s Emerging Leaders Program has been one of the most rewarding experiences of my career here at the university. The training modules have opened my eyes to better see the role the university plays in our society and the challenges it faces. It has also has inspired me to think of better ways to serve the university and the community in meeting these challenges to move us forward. Having an opportunity to be mentored by top leaders within the UH System and meet the other participants has been a renewing and rewarding experience."

Participants in the 2009-2010 cohort are:

  • Philippe M. Binder, UH Hilo
  • Heinz Gert de Couet, UH Mānoa
  • Hugh H. Dunn, UH Mānoa
  • Ali Fares, UH Mānoa
  • Grace M. Funai, Honolulu CC
  • Sandra K. Furuto, UH System
  • Benjamin Guerrero, Maui CC
  • Raynette K. Haleamau-Kam, Hawaiʻi CC
  • Mary Therese Perez Hattori, Kapiʻolani CC
  • Elizabeth Heffernan, UH Hilo
  • Joshua K. Kaakua, UH Mānoa
  • Bryan S.K. Kim, UH Hilo
  • Susan A. Lee, UH System
  • Jodi A.K. Mine, Hawaiʻi CC
  • Grant B. Murata, UH Mānoa
  • Susan S.Y. Nishida, UH West Oʻahu
  • Katrina-Ann R.K. Oliveira, UH Mānoa
  • Kay Ono, Leeward CC
  • Laurence J. Paxton, UH Mānoa
  • Cynthia D. Quinn, UH Mānoa
  • Brian W. Richardson, Windward CC
  • Elizabeth K. Tam, UH Mānoa
  • Florence I.M. Thomas, UH Mānoa
  • Michele H. Tom, UH Mānoa
  • Ronny T. Umehira, Kapiʻolani CC
  • Kanoe A.S. Wilson, UH Hilo
  • Julie K.Y.F. Yuen, UH West Oʻahu