UH Manoa professor elected president of engineers and architects group

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Posted: Jul 8, 2009

Constantinos S. Papacostas, a UH Manoa professor of civil and environmental engineering, has been elected president of the Engineers and Architects of Hawaii (EAH) Association. Having been established in 1902 and originally known as the Hawaiian Engineering Association, EAH is the oldest professional association of its kind in Hawaii. Its first president was Alonzo Gartley, manager of Hawaiian Electric Co., who later served on the Board of Regents of the College of Agriculture and Mechanical Arts that eventually became the University of Hawaii. Gartley Hall on the Manoa campus is named in his honor. Notable past presidents include Honolulu Mayor Johnny Wilson, and respected architects C.W. Dickey, Vladimar Ossipoff and Alfred Preis.

Other newly elected EAH officers are First Vice President Aaron Erickson of Wiss Janney Elstner Associates, Second VP Andy Keane of Oceanit, Treasurer Tit Mun Chun (ret.) of the Hawaii Department of Transportation and M&E Pacific, and Secretary Gary Yamamoto, an engineering consultant.

Papacostas is also director of the Hawaii Local Technical Assistance Program (LTAP), a technology transfer organization housed at UH Manoa and funded by the Federal Highway Administration, the Hawaii Department of Transportation, and other partners.

For more information, visit: http://eahawaii.googlepages.com/