Mike Rota appointed chancellor of Honolulu Community College

University of Hawaiʻi
Carolyn Tanaka, (808) 956-9803
External Affairs & University Relations
Posted: Jun 12, 2009

HONOLULU — The University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents (BOR) has approved the appointment of Michael Rota as chancellor of Honolulu Community College. Rota has been serving as interim chancellor of the Honolulu CC campus since July 2008. His appointment as chancellor is for a two-year period, effective July 1.

"As an interim chancellor during the past year, Mike has done a great job in resolving accreditation issues and in moving toward a more integrated and transparent planning and budget process at Honolulu CC," said UH Vice President for Community Colleges John Morton. "I'm confident that continuing the current team is best for the campus to achieve its strategic goals."

Rota has over 38 years of service in public education in Hawaiʻi. Prior to his position at Honolulu CC, he served as the associate vice president for academic affairs for the University of Hawaiʻi Community Colleges, where he was responsible for academic program planning, evaluation and assessment; course and program articulation; regional accreditation; federal higher education and workforce development issues, and collaboration with external agencies.

He has also served as vice chancellor for academic affairs for the University of Hawaiʻi community colleges and held various teaching and administrative positions at Hawaiʻi Community College and the University of Hawaiʻi at Hilo.

Rota has represented the UH System on the State Workforce Development Council since its inception in 1997, and is a member of the Oʻahu Workforce Investment Board. He leads the state initiative on adult workforce development, one of eight statewide projects funded by the National Governors Association Policy Academy, and serves on the Accrediting Commission for Community and Junior Colleges of the Western Association of Schools and Colleges.

Rota received his BS and MEd from the University of Maryland.