UH Manoa's American Studies Department announces 2009 award winners

University of Hawaiʻi at Mānoa
Melissa Rand, 956-7428
American Studies
Karen Kosasa, 956-8676
American Studies
Posted: Jun 2, 2009

The American Studies Department at the University of Hawaii at Manoa would like to recognize students who received department awards for 2009.

This year‘s American Studies Department award recipients are:

Troy J. H. Andrade (MA): · James M. McCutcheon Memorial Fund

Meighan Beckett (BA) · Brown-Denny Award

Abraham R. Flores (MA) · Glen Grant Scholarship Fund

Yusuke Ikeda (PhD) · CAPE Graduate Fellowship

Leigh Sholler (MA):· Brown-Denny Award

In addition, the department would also like to recognize nine graduate students of the program who have received multiple fellowship, scholarship and research awards this year.

Johanna Almiron (PhD) · Frederick Douglass Institute Pre-Doctoral Fellowship, University of Rochester

Cheryl Beredo (PhD) · Bently Historical Library Grant· East-West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship· Ford Foundation Predoctoral Fellowship, Honorable Mention· Massachusetts Historical Society Twentieth-Century History Fellowship· RCUH Student Excellence in Research Award· UHM Arts and Sciences Student Research Award· UHM Graduate Student Organization Research Award

Mami Hayashi (PhD)· East-West Center Graduate Degree Fellowship· East-West Center Obuchi Scholarship

Joan Harper (PhD)· American Indian Graduate Center Fellowship

Jenna Raunig (MA)· Sea Service Award for Officers from the Navy League of Honolulu

Charles Sasaki (PhD)· Fulbright U.S. International Administrators Fellowship to Germany

Jason Sloan (MA)· Keeper's Fund Fellowship

Jeffrey Allan Tripp (PhD)· Academy of Korean Studies Pre-Doctural Research Fellowship

Michelle Zacks (PhD):· Smithsonian Institution Predoctoral Fellowship for the National Museum of American History· UHM Graduate Student Organization Research Travel Award