University of Hawaii Spring 2002 Commencement Exercises

University of Hawaiʻi
Jim Manke, (808) 956-6099
External Affairs & University Relations
Kristen Cabral, (808) 956-5039
Public Information Officer
Posted: May 9, 2002

The University of Hawaiʻi system announces its Spring 2002 commencement schedule:

Thursday, May 16

Kapiʻolani Community College: 6:30 p.m.; Waikīkī Shell; Speaker - Dalton Tanonaka, Kapiʻolani CC alum and Special Advisor for International Relations, UH Office of the Chancellor for Community Colleges; Student Speaker - Michael Wun; Candidates - 250

Friday, May 17

Honolulu Community College: 5 p.m.; Waikīkī Shell; Speaker - Kevin Hughes, Honolulu CC alum, 2002 UH Distinguished Alumni Award recipient, and World Wide Web Hall of Fame member; Student Speaker - Clara Ann Chorley; Candidates - 523

Leeward Community College: 5 p.m.; Tuthill Courtyard; Speaker - Wick Sloane, Vice President for Administration & Chief Financial Officer, University of Hawaiʻi; Student Speaker - Denise DiRamio; Candidates - 212

Kauaʻi Community College: 6 p.m.; Kauaʻi War Memorial Convention Hall; Speaker - The Honorable Trudy Senda, Judge, District Court, County of Kauaʻi; Student Speaker - Mary-Kit Mariano; Candidates - 130

UH Center Maui: 6 p.m.; Maui Arts & Cultural Center, McCoy Studio Theater; Speaker - Arlene Watanabe, Deputy Prosecuting Attorney, County of Maui; Student Speakers - Gary Kobayashi, Cynthia Giebink, Lahuanani Medella, Zhorein Magliba and
Rachel Kimmel; Candidates - 29

Hawaiʻi Community College: 7 p.m.; UH Hilo New Gym, Athletic Complex; Speaker - The Honorable Harry Kim, Mayor, County of Hawaiʻi; Student Speaker - Monotui Fuiava; Candidates - 300

Saturday, May 18

UH Hilo: 9 a.m.; UH Hilo New Gym, Athletic Complex; Speaker - Dr. Evan Dobelle, President, University of Hawaiʻi; Student Speaker - Joseph Watts; Candidates - 337

UH West Oʻahu: 9 a.m.; Leeward Community College Tuthill Courtyard; Speaker - David McClain, Dean, UH Mānoa College of Business Administration; Student Speaker - Paula Swartz; Candidates - 105

UH Mānoa School of Nursing & Dental Hygiene Recognition Ceremony: 9 a.m.; Kennedy Theatre; Speaker - Paula Akana, UH alum and KITV-4 news anchor; Student Speakers - Brian Alejandro, Jill Bowman, Sunny Lee; Candidates - 54 (Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene - 18; Bachelor of Science in Nursing - 33; Master of Science in Nursing - 2; Post-Master‘s Certificate in Nursing - 1)

UH Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony: 1 p.m.; Battery Randolph, Fort DeRussy; Speaker - Brigadier General Clarence Agena, Commander of the Hawaiʻi Army National Guard; Student Speaker - N/A; Candidates - 24

Windward Community College: 1 p.m.; Hale Pālanakila Theatre; Speaker - Capsun M. Poe, University of Hawaiʻi Board of Regents; Student Speaker - Justin Badine; Candidates - 60

UH Mānoa John A. Burns School of Medicine Convocation Ceremony: 3 p.m.; Kennedy Theatre; Speaker - Dr. John M. Hardman, Professor and Chair, Department of Pathology, JABSOM; Student Speaker - Kalani L. Raphael, Class President; Candidates - 52 Doctor of Medicine candidates

UH Center at West Hawaiʻi: 4 p.m.; King Kamehameha‘s Kona Beach Hotel, Kamakahonua Ballroom; Speaker: N/A; Student Speakers - Jocelynd Damaasco and Kip Larson; Candidates - 52

Sunday, May 19

Maui Community College: 1 p.m.; Maui Arts & Cultural Center, Castle Theater; Speaker - Dr. Manulani Meyer, Assistant Professor of Education, UH Hilo; Student Speaker - Kimberly Willenbrink; Candidates - 234

UH Mānoa Baccalaureate Degrees: 9 a.m.; Stan Sheriff Center; Speaker - Lee Cataluna, playwright and Honolulu Advertiser columnist; Student Speaker: N/A; Candidates - 1,121

Candidates with Honors: Joshua B. Hvidding, Jonathan I. Iloreta, Alison M. Izawa, Jeslyn E. Kawabata, Casey A. Kaylor, Naomi K. Long, Shane K. Menza, Thomas I. Morinaka, Samuel I. Mukai, Taron K. Murakami, Ngac N. Phan, Susan A. Sanger, Joan Y. Tamashiro, Cathy L. Wood, Caitlin Y. Yamamoto

Regents Scholars: Christopher Edward Chan, James Henry Franks, Laurie Hiroshige, Cherise Sue-Jeen Ho, Nanette Mie Ikeda, Jonathan Iloreta, Jill Keiko Kanda, Gary Jiawei Li, Jenisse Emi Miyamoto, Taron Kato Murakami, Jodi Leiko Nanbu, Robyn Lyn Lu Ping Richard, Joy Sakai, Siddarth Savara, Catherine Joanne Simonovich, Jamie Kesae Tanimoto, Nelson Ye, Liana Yee

Presidential Scholars: Martina Anne Batten, Darren Seiji Goshi, Miyuki Kajiyama, Jared Nakamura, Aaron Justin Small, Staci Mayumi Uwaine, Amber Namaka Whitehead, Cathy Lorraine Wood, Caitlin Yuri Yamamoto

Undergraduate commencement ceremonies are expected to last approximately two hours. Graduates, their families, and friends are urged to arrive in sufficient time for the prompt 9 a.m. start of the program and to expect traffic congestion in the area. Doors to the Stan Sheriff Center will open at 8 a.m. An overflow crowd is expected. Closed-circuit television monitors will be available in an adjacent lecture hall.

UH Mānoa Advanced Degrees: 2 p.m.; Stan Sheriff Center; Speaker - Elizabeth Birch, Executive Director, Human Rights Campaign; Student Speaker: N/A; Candidates - 661 (Doctorates - 36 PhD, 52 MD, 68 JD, 6 ArchD; Post-baccalaureate certificates - 40; Master‘s degrees - 459)

Doors to the Stan Sheriff Center will open at 1 p.m. for the advanced degree program that is expected to last approximately two hours.

Authorized lei vendors will be located in the Music Department parking lot along Dole Street just before the entrance to Lower Campus Road and inside the Athletics complex. No balloons are allowed inside the Stan Sheriff Center.

Monday, May 20

UH Mānoa William S. Richardson School of Law: 5 p.m.; Andrews Amphitheater; Speaker - N/A; Student Speaker - Kristine Namkung; Candidates - 75

UH Mānoa School of Architecture Commencement Ceremony: 5:30 p.m.; Hawaiʻi Theatre; Speaker - Gordon Chong, National President of the American Institute of Architects; Student Speaker - N/A; Candidates - 41